Why I Teach Entrepreneurs to Keep Reinventing the Wheel

Would you put a 5,000-year-old wheel on your Tesla?

Aaron Dinin, PhD
The Startup
Published in
5 min readApr 1, 2021

--

Photo by jim hatch on Unsplash

I was judging a startup pitch competition alongside a prominent venture capitalist. For the sake of discretion, I’ll leave him nameless here.

A founder was pitching us his web metrics tool. I thought it was a creative and unique approach to the problem, and I told him as much in my feedback. After my comments, the VC shared his thoughts. In a rather uncharacteristic move for VCs, he didn’t hold back his criticism. “It was a good pitch,” he said, “but I’m not sold. What you’re talking about here is a solved problem. The world already has Google Analytics. It’s free. It’s ubiquitous. There’s no need to reinvent the wheel.”

The founder slouched a bit in response to the criticism, but otherwise seemed to take it well. He thanked us for our feedback and walked off stage.

Following the event, there was a reception. I saw the founder sitting alone at a table, nursing a soda and looking dejected. He hadn’t won the competition, but I thought he’d had one of the better projects, and I wanted to encourage him to keep pushing forward.

“Nice pitch,” I said as I sat down next to him.

--

--

Aaron Dinin, PhD
The Startup

I teach entrepreneurship at Duke. Software Engineer. PhD in English. I write about the mistakes entrepreneurs make since I’ve made plenty. More @ aarondinin.com