Why You Should Start A Productized Service Business

Instead of doing freelancing and consulting

Marilyn Wo
MeetAnders Unlimited Design

--

Photo by Matthew T Rader on Unsplash

I was a graphic design freelancer since 2005, and very happy with my life then. When my kid was born, there was no way for me to be serving my clients while babysitting. That’s when I realised my business couldn’t run without me. I was the bottleneck in all areas of it.

Searching for solutions, I tried to create other tech products, thinking that services can never be scaled. Maybe developing a SAAS (Software As A Service) product is the only way for me to remove myself from my business, scale it while still earning an income from it.

Since I’m equipped with decent coding skills, I thought I could create the next Facebook or Youtube and not have to work forever. After a few failed SAAS startups that included everything under the sun: parenting, food and advertising products, I got slapped by many lessons.

I found out I was wrong about how startups and businesses work. I was wrong that coding is the only skill I needed to find freedom. I was wrong to think that SAAS is the next big thing to create. I was wrong that service businesses cannot scale.

I did some soul-searching and realised it comes down to one thing. I just wanted a business that can scale, something I can create…

--

--

Marilyn Wo
MeetAnders Unlimited Design

3X top writer. Helping freelancers scale their service business without them. Start here -> https://verygoodproductizedguides.substack.com/