The Thelwell ponies, well-known and adored by pony-enthusiastic children everywhere, have become a symbol of recognition and delight.

A Dream Come True: Curating the Thelwell Centenary Exhibition

Joyce Ter Horst
Paard Verzameld
Published in
3 min readNov 28, 2023

--

The Thelwell centenary exhibition is coming to the Living Horse Museum in Amsterdam, and it’s set to wow visitors beyond their wildest dreams. As someone who has had the incredible opportunity to work on this exhibition, I can tell you that it is an absolute dream come true!

Collaborating with Elsbeth Bos of De Hollandsche Manege and David Thelwell, son of the renowned artist, has been nothing short of extraordinary. Together, we have put together an unforgettable and awe-inspiring art experience in the heart of Amsterdam.

A journey back in time
This exhibition holds a deeply sentimental value for me. As a young girl, my equestrian journey began when I first started riding. Horses became my passion, and the bond I formed with these beautiful animals shaped my life. However, it was the discovery of the Thelwell ponies that truly ignited my imagination!

From the moment I came across my very first Thelwell book, I was captivated. The whimsical illustrations and relatable characters painted a vivid picture of the equestrian world, sparking my imagination and fueling my passion even further. I couldn’t get enough of the delightful mischief, hilarious mishaps, and heartwarming moments that filled the pages.

My fascination with Thelwell quickly went beyond reading the books. Collecting Thelwell memorabilia became a cherished hobby. I sought out Thelwell-themed notepads, posters, stickers, and anything else I could get my hands on. Each piece transporting me to a world where ponies had personalities and young riders faced challenges that somehow mirrored my own experiences.

Now, standing in the presence of the original Thelwell artworks at this exhibition, I am overcome with nostalgia and to be honest, I am a little starstruck! Being able to witness the original artworks in person is an indescribable experience. The vibrant colors, the mischievous expressions on the characters’ faces, and the attention to detail all takes me back to those carefree days filled with imagination, wonder, ponies and somehow, a lot of mud…

This exhibition is not just a showcase of Thelwell’s artistry; it’s a journey back in time. It’s a reminder of the power of art to shape our lives, inspire our dreams, and create lasting memories. I am immensely grateful for the opportunity to be a part of this exhibition and to share the magic of Thelwell with others who, like me, hold a special place in their hearts for this beloved artist.

Original artwork on show at the Thelwell’s Pony Parade exhibition, opening the 11th of December.

Join us on the journey!
So, join us on this extraordinary journey. Prepare to be enchanted as you immerse yourself in the world of Thelwell. This is an experience that will stay with you long after you leave the exhibition.

Get your tickets now
For more information about the Thelwell centenary exhibition and to purchase tickets, visit the Living Horse Museum website. There, you’ll find all the details you need to plan your visit and secure your spot at this incredible event. Don’t miss out on this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. Mark your calendars, gather your friends, and get ready to be captivated by the Thelwell centenary exhibition at the Living Horse Museum in Amsterdam, opening December 11th!

Visit the Living Horse Museum website for more information and tickets.

Joyce Ter Horst
Equine art curator
Paard Verzameld | Equine Art Services

--

--