Interview: Sabien Delhez

Joyce Ter Horst
Paard Verzameld
Published in
4 min readAug 3, 2017

Sabien sounds phonetically like “it’s good” in French. Dutch artist Sabien Delhez (b. 1981) adopted this symbollical way of writing her first name after the fresh start she had made in her private life and work five years ago. She is divides her time between her two-year-old son Maks and her art. And works at home from her studio in the beautiful green area of Veenendaal, the Netherlands.

At what age did you become interested in art?

SD: My parents always tell me that I have been interested in art and especially drawing from a very young age. I even switched from high school to have the opportunity to do my exams in art. Eventually I graduated as a graphic designer. On the course I took I had little opportunity to develop myself as a true artist. We worked mainly with computers and weren't really stimulated to bring out the art from within.

How did you develop your art and work as an artist?

SD: During my studies as a graphic designer we participated in drawing from life models. There my interest in anatomy was sparked, especially the anatomy of horses. I started drawing horses from life, meaning getting into the field with them to sketch. Now I’m taking that even one step further. I work with a veterinary practice to paint the skeleton and muscles structures straight on to the horse during anatomy lessons! I’m learning so much of this! The self-discovery of techniques and materials came after my study. With the help of artists like Dutch artist Marin Elsen, I was encouraged to think about my work and compositions.

Oils by Sabien Delhez

Can you describe your process. Do you draw from life or use photo references and how long does your process usually take?

SD: It’s a natural process. You can say it’s all about intuition, a feeling from within my heart, an idea I want to give shape. I have lengthy conversations with my clients to find out about the relationship between the owner and the horse. Their special bond is something I want to capture. The story behind the photograph that I use as a reference.

With my talent I can return something that is of enormous value to somebody else. When people get emotional or happy I have achieved my goal. That’s the most beautiful thing! I see it as a gift that I’m born with” — Sabien Delhez

Where do you get your inspiration from? Who influences or has influenced you in the past?

SD: Swedish illustrator Lena Furberg (b. 1957) known for her drawings for various horse magazines and comic books, was and still is my great example! I can’t count the hours I’ve spent as a child re-drawing her work. Even my own horse resembles her best-known character “Mulle” in looks. The most beautiful and rewarding thing for me is that she now follows me on Instagram and gives me lovely responses on my work. I see a lot of her style in my own work and I’m still following everything she does! She has been a major influence.

Finally, what sort of art do you enjoy personally, what moves and inspires you?

SD: The Czech Art Nouveau artist Alphons Mucha (b. 1860–d. 1939) is one of my favorites. That kind of flowing style of drawing is amazing and I would love to paint my own mare in his flat, poster style. It suits me. I don’t go for certain era’s or art movements, an artist has to have that certain ‘something’ that appeals to me. As far as contemporary artists, Irish artist Tony O’ Connor is somebody I admire. In his work he shows the viewer the “realness” of his subjects. Horses in natural positions with sometimes a bit of drama and at the same time a cool soberness. So life-like and unassuming, as if you were entering the stable!

JTH

This interview has been published in Augustus 2017 in online Bit magazine.

Paard Verzameld Social

Facebook Instagram Twitter Pinterest

--

--