Photo: Dan Quinajon

Dan Quinajon

Joyce Ter Horst
Paard Verzameld
Published in
2 min readApr 12, 2018

--

“Born and raised in Los Angeles, I grew up with a dad who photographed on weekends. In high school I took some photography classes and was hooked on the idea of visual storytelling and making great images. I enlisted in the US Navy in 1992 and became a military photographer and served for 6 years overseas and in the United States. After I was honorbly discharged, I enrolled into college courses with my GI Bill. Some of my base course work shaped a lot of how I photograph my subjects to this day. Namely a night course I completed through a scholarship program with the Art Center College of Design in Pasadena”.

“Additionally, while pursuing my college coursework, I worked most of my free hours as a freelance photojournalist for the San Gabriel Valley Tribune, Pasadena Star News, and Whittier Daily News. I obtained my Bachelor’s of Arts in Communications/Photography from Cal State Fullerton in 2002. In 2004 I accepted a position as a technical photographer and video editor have lived on the central coast of California ever since. It was living in this area where I came to know and love horses and have made them a part of my photography”.

Photo: Dan Quinajon

“My current body of work focusing on the equine subject began in late 2009 as I was first introduced to horses at that time. As I undertook learning how to ride dressage, I became fascinated with the movement of horses, their phsyique and of course, the variety of their individual personalities. Through the training and care of several horses, I have learned a great deal of this species and their impact on me has been lifechanging. But it is also important to note that for centuries the horse has been man’s partner in life and they deserve our respect. I sincerely believe that horses still serve a purpose in this world and can help aid in making life better. Simply put, if more people loved and cared for a horse, this world would be a better place”

American photographer Dan Quinajon in his own words.

JTH

Paard Verzameld Socials

Facebook Instagram Twitter Pinterest

--

--