Conjunctive verbs in Malayalam

Nandakumar G
PACASA Academy for Indian Languages
2 min readJan 4, 2017

Hello and welcome to the Malayalam course by PACASA Language Academy. In this article we will learn about the Conjunctive verbs in Malayalam language. We know that Conjunctions connect two separate, but related thoughts, clauses, or ideas within a sentence and Verbs are the action taking place.

Let us examine this sentence “I think I have got a cold.” Here “got” is the conjunctive verb, the state of being, and connects “I think” with the cold.
Now we got to translate this sentence to Malayalam. I or For me is ‘Enikk’ (എനിക്ക്)‌. Cold = JaladOsham (ജലദോഷം)
and ‘Got’ or ‘Have’ = unt (ഉണ്ട്)

I think I have got a cold = Enikk JaladOsham unt enn thOnnunnu.
(എനിക്ക് ജലദോഷം ഉണ്ട് എന്ന് തോന്നുന്നു)

I have fever (Enikk pani unt എനിക്ക് പനി ഉണ്ട്‌)
here “unt” denotes “Have”

I have pain
(Enikk vEdana unt എനിക്ക് വേദന ഉണ്ട്‌)

I have a house
(Enikk oru veedu unt എനിക്ക് ഒരു വീട് ഉണ്ട്‌)

I have a child
(Enikk oru kutti unt എനിക്ക് ഒരു കുട്ടി ഉണ്ട്‌)

We will see how to make plurals from singulars in the next article, then you will be able to say “I have two children” ie “Enikk randu kuttikaL unt”. Yes, you’ve guessed right.. kutti (child) becomes kutti-kaL (children) by adding ‘kaL’ at the end of the singular. There are exceptions too!

I have seen that cinema
(njaan aa cinema kandittund ഞാൻ ആ സിനിമ കണ്ടിട്ടുണ്ട്‌)
here ‘Seen’ = Kandu and ‘have seen’ = Kandittund, notice the blending of Kandu+und = Kandittund

‘aanu’ (ആണ്‌) is an extremely mobile form which can be attached to almost any element or group in the sentence producing differences in emphasis.

In Malayalam language ‘I’ means ‘njaan’ (ഞാൻ)
and the possessive case ‘mine’ is ‘ente’. (എന്റെ)

I am going = njaan pOvuka aanu (ഞാൻ പോവുക ആണ്‌) is the pure form, but while speaking pOvuka+aanu becomes ‘pOvukayaanu’ (പോവുകയാണ്)

This is my office = ith aanu ente office (ഇത് ആണ് എന്റെ ഓഫീസ്) is the pure form, but while speaking ith+aanu becomes ‘ithaanu’ (ഇതാണ്).

This is what I said = ithaanu njaan paRanjath
This is what I saw = ithaanu njaan kandath
This is what I heard = ithaanu njaan kEttath
This is what I did = ithaanu njaan cheythath
This is what I learned = ithaanu njaan paTichath

Next time you will start to notice the usages like ‘unt’ ‘aanu’ etc whenever you watch Malayalam programs on TV.

--

--