The Grand Canyon of India

Veera Thiruppal
Pacific Traveller
Published in
5 min readAug 18, 2020

I recently visited Gandikota, famously known as The Grand Canyon of India. There was an instant connection, I could feel with this place and I believe, everyone who visits here would experience the same.

During this visit to Gandikota, I met few kids aged between 10–15 years. Out of curiosity, I asked them, why they were there, and their response disappointed me.

I know, you are keen to hear what they said! Well, here it is. They said, “We just came here, to play a bit. What else can we do with just such old buildings around.” The disappointment I earlier expressed was about them not knowing enough or just anything, about such a famous and historic place. I started wondering, if at least grownups would know about it at all. And hence, this attempt! I am taking up writing about The Grand Canyon of India.

I also realized the responsibility of educating these kids about the place they were at. Not leaving the opportunity at hand, I started giving them an account of whatever I knew about the place. As I started talking about it, I felt like I was walking back into the fort, passing its beast like giant walls, made from red-brown sand. It is not an exaggeration to say, that these walls were both beasty and beautiful.

These walls were made to reflect the strength of the kingdom. To put it simply, it was to play psyche of enemies and scare them back, right from the entrance. While these walls show the toughness, we cannot miss how welcoming the gate of the fort is.

History:

Whenever I visit these historical places, I start to relate to them! I feel, just the way we and our families have histories, memorable places and stories to tell, each of these monuments carries them too. It is only on us, to see it, experience it and pass it on.

I could sense the pride and history that was resonating in the fort!

From what I read and understood, this is not just a fort with old buildings. This is one of the biggest and strongest empires from 12AD.

This empire was first built and ruled by the Kalyani Chalukyas. The history then saw, these places ruled by Delhi Sultan, Pemmasani Nayakas and Golkonda Sultans. This place was the capital of the Pemmasani Nayakas, who were vassals of the Vijaya Nagara empire for almost 300 years.

Let’s have a quick look at the timeline of Gandikota.

  • 1123 AD — 1239 AD: Kappa Raja (Kalyani Chalukya)
  • 1239 AD — 1304 AD: Kayastra Dynasty (Kakatiya Rulers)
  • Till 1343 AD: Tughlaq Dynasty (Delhi Sultans)
  • 300 years till 1652 AD: Pemmasani Nayakas with Gandikota as the capital
  • 1652 AD: Qutb Shahi (Golkonda Sultan)
  • And after that, British occupied this place.

Gandikota’s Design & Culture:

Gandikota is a place designed and built amidst nature. On one side is the beauty of the Penna River and on the other side is a beautiful range of breathtaking mountains.

As mentioned above, this fort was built by the Kalyani Chalukyas. Basis my understanding of the history the design of the fort has been changed multiple times, over periods.

What makes this fort stand out, is its beauty and beastliness. It carries a very special tag of being built with sand. Yes! Just the way, we make forts of sand on the seashore, but at a much larger scale. Haha! I don’t think, I can quantify the magnifying scale here.

My walk through the fort, felt like I was walking inside a lotus. When seen, the fort interiors look like lotus petals. This only reinforces the fact that most of our ancient designs were inspired by nature. Can we call this a mimic of nature? I think yes!

Now let’s Imagine that you are standing right at the center of the below place. Aren’t you seeing a bloomed lotus 😊?

Another interesting thing that caught my eye here, was Nagabandana. It is a sculpture symbol with two snakes tied together by a rope. It looked something like below.

This is believed to protect a hidden part of the fort (not necessarily a treasure) and is not easy to access, with nature around it, providing the maximum security.

Speaking of the culture here, I can say, it was quite diversified. I saw both temples and masjid. This proved that this place housed varied cultures and traditions. The temples and the masjid you can see here are Madavaraya Temple, Raganadha swami temple, and Jama Masjid.

Why is it The Grand Canyon of India?

Everyone says this place is The Grand Canyon of India. Here is the reason why!

One side of the fort is the beautiful Penna River flowing through and cutting the deep rocks, forming the breathtaking Gandikota Gorge! A canyon is a deep gorge!

This only shows the power of water (one of the PanchaBhoothas, as believed in Hindu culture), and how it can cut through layers and layers of rocks over years!

The deep gorge formed by Colorado river in N Arizona (a southwestern US State), is termed the Grand Canyon! Making Gandikota, The Grand Canyon of India.

I have visited multiple historical places and was equally mesmerized by each of them. Gandikota only added to the reasons, why I have been visiting and will continue to visit these places more and more. My experience here was overwhelming!

I tried to learn to understand and pass on to you, the History, Culture, and Design of Gandikota, from my visit. I could have missed multiple things about this beast of a place. It is too magnificent to capture all its essence in a day.

I am keen to hear from you, on what you know, about this place! I believe this would help many understand why Gandikota is not just a fort but The Grand Canyon of India.

Originally published at http://pacifictraveller.net.

--

--

Veera Thiruppal
Pacific Traveller

Naturist | Designer. Learning from Nature and designing for Planet & People.