Don’t be too harsh on yourself when you fall off your routine

Alvin Kanpura
Pacious Life
Published in
2 min readOct 12, 2015

So here’s what happened, I was surfing through IMDB and I came across a tv series I’ve never watched before, Scandal. So I checked it out and then 5 hours later found out I was addicted to this show. So for the whole of that week I spent most of my time watching Scandal. But I felt guilty everyday, I felt like I betrayed my principal and my work ethic.

Here’s the thing you need to know about me, I am a workaholic, I love my work more than anything else in the world. And I work hard everyday to get to where I am and where I want to be. So falling off that routine is a big deal to me. I know that they’re of people out there who are like me and goes through the same feeling I went through when they miss their routine. They, just like me, goes into self-resentment mode for not sticking to the schedule or the routine.

And here’s something that I’ve learned recently from a good friend who is also a mentor to me, he told me, ‘learn to forgive yourself when you can’t be the person you want to be for that day, week or year, because blaming yourself helps no one, because blaming yourself only takes you further from the person you want to become’. And that’s the advice I want to give to all of you A-players who’s going through a tough time following your routine or schedule. Forgive yourself and start tomorrow fresh. 😉

Tomorrow’s a new day, get a fresh start.

--

--

Alvin Kanpura
Pacious Life

My thoughts on Politics, Economics and sometimes Movies. Hopefully you'll find witty insights from this blog