Brianna Higby: Process Documentation

Brianna Higby
Packaging Design
Published in
24 min readAug 30, 2018

Fall 2018 Packaging

Thursday, November 15, 2018

Second design critique:

  1. What I heard?
  2. What I think?
  3. What I will do?

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

First design critique:

This is the paper design that goes on the outside of the waxed paper sushi roll.

  1. What did I hear? The form itself is good, but the pattern doesn’t make you think it’s sushi inside. It seems to be more of a botanical print that makes you think of makeup instead. To revise the pattern think about ripping up paper and making the pattern into sections? Keep the pastel color if I want too. On the label I need to add in “Contains chopsticks, wasabi, soy sauce, and ginger”. Change the label into a circle with a bellyband so it will look better, and think about adding a sushi image into the O in my title. Create a fold for the chopsticks in the packaging so I don’t have to create more packaging and still keep them sanitary.
  2. What do I think? I agree with the pattern looking like makeup, and I like the idea of the circle with the bellyband alot better than the little strip I have in the back right now.
  3. What will I do? I will make another pattern that adds in sushi elements like soy sauce, and maybe sushi pieces. I’m going to change the label so I think that will give more more room to add information if I need to!

Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Ideas for form

In the brief I am supposed to figure out a way to package ready meals that is in reduced packaging. I chose to go with sushi, and they are always packaged in those big plastic containers. I was thinking it would really cut down on packaging if I had the sushi rolled in a sort of paper, that way you could recycle it and it would also promote freshness. My first idea was to make a type of octagon box that you could open up and the food would be inside. Then I thought about rolling the roll in a type of waxed paper that has a nice design on the outside and a sticker to hold the whole thing closed.

Thursday, November 1, 2018

Revised Moodboard for Brief A

  1. What I heard? Think about another form for the box, maybe make it a circle like a bento box. Maybe a refillable container you can take back to the store and have them refill the sushi. Orr think about wrapping the sushi in a paper to really show freshness, designed paper. Have a modern, simplified take on the pattern, could use the fish in the roll, or could take a botanical turn and show ginger flower, seaweed, cucumber. Include the wasabi, ginger, soy sauce, and chopsticks. Make the chopsticks wooden to be recycled. Focus on really reducing material and freshness. I should think about making my own brand.
  2. What I think? I really like the paper wrapping idea, and I really wanted to include a designed pattern so that sounds good to me. Also creating a brand might actually be easier to do than to try and find one that doesn’t sound silly.
  3. What I will do? I will work to find a paper solution that I like, so for Tuesday I’d like to have a few different box/paper mockups. I’m also going to try a few different designs out and begin the branding.

Tuesday, October 30, 2018

Starpack Project Moodboards

Thursday, October 25, 2018

Final Critique:

  1. What did I hear?

2. What do I think?

3. What will I do?

Tuesday, October 23, 2018

When creating my first layout of my box, I was thinking it would be cool to have all the dinosaurs on the front looking like they were about to fight one another. When you place the boxes into a square they face eachother and they all have a different color. I wasn’t able to find any plastic eggs at the store, so I thought I’d just stick to the original box size and make the design more eye catching. The Japanese symbol on the front says dinosaur, and then the lid and the back of the box will say the name Discovery World. I still need to get the nutrition facts on the one side of the box.

I created this design based on what I saw by looking at old Godzilla posters. I liked the ones where the background sun and rays were the color while Godzilla was a muted green. I wanted to make my dinosaurs black and white but have them more on the dark side so you couldn’t tell exactly what the dinosaur looked like, keeping in line with the surprise element of the brand. I want to have all the boxes packaged together somehow, maybe a sort of carrying tray or something.

Tuesday, October 16, 2018

$2 Splurchase Project 3

  1. Photograph product in original location. Purchased Discovery World dinosaur chocolate toy at Walmart.

2. Write some notes about what you were doing before you discovered the product, and what made you purchase it. I was looking at the candy in a closed checkout line (so I wouldn’t feel rushed) and I saw all these Wonderball chocolates and I got really excited. I used to love wonderball when I was a kid, but they didn’t have any of the original kinds. They had ones marketed for girls, like those little fuzzy animals with the sparkles, and they had ones for boys, which was like paw patrol. Then I saw these ones that had dinosaurs in them and I got excited because I used to loveeee dinosaurs as a kid. Like I could tell you every dinosaur name and what they looked like. So I bought 2 dinosaur chocolate toys, because they were only .50 so who wouldn’t buy 2, and checked out.

3. It’s time to enjoy! Take notes on your experience with the item.

Okay not gonna lie I am really disappointed with my product. I thought the dinosaur was going to be inside a chocolate ball and you’d have to break it open to get the toy. Instead I opened the box and the dinosaur fell out, a tiny paper with all the dinos you can collect, and a dinky piece of chocolate. At first I was like “Yeah I guess that what I get for paying .50, but then I looked at the price tag in my picture and saw they were marked down from $1.38! If I was going to pay $2 for one of these boxes I’d be really mad. The way this is advertised makes it seem like a dinosaur toy surprise inside the chocolate. When Nick came home I asked him to read the box and tell me if he thought the dinosaur would be in a chocolate ball and he said “No I’d think it was dinosaur shaped chocolates.” So we were both wrong.

Other than that disappointment, the dinosaur itself was pretty cool and somehow I managed to get a dinosaur bear? I love bears so thats cool. However, dinosaur bears are not a thing and they are not triassic, jurassic, or cretaceous. According to a quick Google search, Arctodus Simus went extinct 11,000 year ago. The dinosaurs went extinct 65 million years ago, so I guess Discovery World is only off by 65 million years by including the bear in this collection. The chocolate was okay, a standard piece of milk chocolate.

4. Explain how/if your product provided a service or thing. I guess not really a service, a toy and piece of chocolate would be things though, and kids really like toys so they’d probably play with it for a while.

  1. Visual Design Critique:
    Size/Format: 2.5x 2.5 in cardboard box.
    Typography:
    Color Palette: Blue, brown, gradient of pink to yellow and blue to white, white text with colored stroke around it.
    Photography/Illustration: Theres 3 different dinosaurs on the box, 2 are colored illustrations and the 3rd looks like a photographed plastic toy.
    Pattern/Texture: It’s a smooth box with type, the chocolate wrapper has a pattern on it that says Discovery World.
    Grid System:
    Pretend the copy is written in a foreign language you do not understand. What do the visual aesthetics of the product’s packaging communicate about it? If I couldn’t read any of this box all I would get out of it is a dinosaur picture and a lot of colors.
    Shelf/Display Placement: View documentation of the product in-store. Does the location provoke purchasing? It would for a kid, this product was on the second to bottom shelf, and if I wouldn’t have looked at the candy with toys I probably never would’ve seen it. Actually before today I’ve never seen these but they have probably been there the whole time.
    Does it stand out from surrounding merchandise? If so, how? Everything around it was about the same just different colors, and brands. This was the cheapest one on that shelf though so the price stood out.
  2. Materials and Processes
    Amount of packaging (balance of protection vs. waste): There was the box that holds everything, a plastic square that held the small paper and toy inside of it, and then the chocolate pieces wrapped in tin foil. I feel like its not necessary for the plastic square to be in there.
    Paper/plastic/metal/glass/other: Plastic, tin foil, cardboard.
    Percentage of recycled content: None of it has the recycling logo on it but I’d say you could recycle all the packaging. 100% for packaging
    Longevity (how likely is the consumer to keep and/or continue using the product after purchase?): The toy is kind of small so I feel like the kid will play with it for a while that day and then either lose it or keep it in a toy bin and not really find it again. The chocolate will be gone right after you open the product, and the card is pretty tiny so they kid probably wont care about it. If someone like me bought it they would probably put it on their computer desk or something as decoration and not really do much else with it.
    Sustainability (is the product and/or packaging biodegradeable or easily recyclable?): It’s mostly cardboard for the packaging and thats easy to recycle.
  3. Branding/Messaging: 100% Premium milk chocolate, with surprise inside.
    Logo/Tagline Description: Discovery World / 24 Dinosaurs to collect! 100% premium milk chocolate
    Contents/Weight/Volume: dinosaur, card, chocolate /
    Ingredients: Milk chocolate, sugar, cocoa butter, whole milk powder, unsweetened chocolate, soy lecithin, natural vanilla extract.
    Directions for Use: None
    Warnings:Choking hazard, small parts, not for children under 3
    Purpose: eat and play
  4. Product Pros/Cons (create lists of the pros and cons of the product itself) Cons you think there is more chocolate than there actually is. Pro its colorful but less in your face than the other chocolates in the aisle.

For my mood board I was exploring the possibility of adding a dinosaur egg as the main packaging for the toy and the chocolate. Then I would need a way to hold the egg, and that would have either life like dinosaurs with backgrounds on it, or a colorful pattern.

Critique on Moodboard:

  1. What did I hear? The box is extremely misleading, maybe I should say 24 prehistoric animals with a surprise chocolate instead. They market this product as a dinosaur but I got a bear, and there are mammoths so I should probably fix that. Think about the box unfolding and creating a habitat that kids could play with their dinosaurs on. Or go with the idea of the dinosaur eggs and create something for them to go inside, like a nest. The animals themselves are pretty scary so we were thinking of maybe going into more of a more nostalgic direction and creating more of a vintage godzilla poster.
  2. What do I think? I really like the Godzilla idea, I think that would be a really fun piece to create and I think it would capture more attention to the product also. I’m trying to figure out how I would go about setting up these eggs and how they would be wrapped. Can I add a bunch of extra things or would that bring the cost up too much? So I guess I need to figure that out!
  3. What will I do? I want to buy or find some Easter eggs, hopefully since there out of season I can find them, and paint them to look like dinosaur eggs. Then I want to make a sort of holding container that looks like a natural habitat you’d find a nest in with the vintage colorful dinosaurs on the outside of the box.

Wine Bottle Project Final

Geodes created for the imagery.
My box and the template it was based off of.
I’ll get a better foil picture up I didn’t realize I couldn’t upload videos.

Final critique:

  1. What did I hear? Everyone really likes the foil stamping on the box and the bottles! In photoshop I should probably change the color of the red wine neck wrap because the blue feels pretty out of place. On the box my text on the sides seems pretty big still, and because I was making thin columns it made a kind of weird rag.
  2. What do I think? I agree with all the feedback I received, I was planning on photoshopping the neck wraps on both the red wine and the champagne. I also didn’t realize the font on the box was still so big until after I printed it on my good paper and started assembling it.
  3. What will I do? I will make the text smaller on the box and start mocking these up on photoshop!

Thursday, October 11, 2018

High School Art Day

Today we were to have designed and created a box template to give to high school students to put together. Sarah and I designed a coffin box and added a skull design to the inside of the box. We also created stickers, and we got bandage gauze to wrap the box in and make it spooky!

Here’s our little group that made the coffins.

Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Reading Day / No Class

Today I just worked on my labels and tried to start make revisions to my box.

Label Variation

Thursday, October 4, 2018

Second Finish on labels:

First Finish on box:

Tuesday, October 2, 2018

First Finish on label:

  1. What did I hear? I definitely need to think about having the geode design be on its own and then have the label information like a sort of thin band. The extra information could go up on the neck wrap. Think about changing the neck wrap colors to match the designs (mostly the blue one).
  2. What did I think? I agree with all the critique, and I like the look of the label being in a band rather than a big rectangle label.
  3. What will I do? Everything that was suggested and learn the foil stamp machine!

Started planning our box or bag design for next weeks High School Art day.

Thursday, September 27, 2018

1. What is the title/brand/identity for the wine series and how do
they create a conceptual relationship between the artist and the
product (in general-wine, but it can also be about things related to
wine (the region it is made in, the ingredients or notes in each
varietal, the atmosphere or feelings associated with drinking wine,
etc.)
The title of my winery is Oui, Huyghe, because Pierre is french and his last name is pronounced like oui. All the wines I’ve chosen to use are french wines grown in the Bourgogne region of France; they are Pinot Noir, Cote de Beaune, and Cremant de Bourgogne.

2. How do the elements used in the design (type, images,
texture/pattern, color, materials) support the concept and communicate
the artist’s work?
My favorite art Pierre created were the timekeeper pieces that showed sanded away wall revealing all the layers of paint underneath. I want to recreate that feeling by using colors from the ingredients in the wines and either making crystal patterns or wooden ones, like tree rings. I want to print my highend label on silvery paper, and the lower end ones on cream. My white wine label has yellows and greens, while my red wine and sparkling have reds, golds and silvers.

3. What revisions/additions/modifications could be applied to the
design to improve its communication of concept and/or relationship to
the artist’s work?
I need to revise the size of my label, I made it too short and wide. I’d like for my label to be larger and centered on the front of the bottle.

4. What revisions/additions/modifications could be applied to the
design to improve brand cohesion across the series?

5. What revisions/additions/modifications could be applied to the
design to improve both digital and physical craft?

6. What is the plan for the high end champagne bottle and box? Offer
suggestions and ideas for further development of this aspect of the
project based on work critiqued today

Tuesday, September 25, 2018

20 Label Thumbnail sketches

Moving forward with french artist Pierre Huyghe!

Feedback on sketches:

  1. What I heard? Go for a more organic shaped label, maybe have layers that can peel back on the bottle to reveal more information. Look into window cling.
  • write about the artist and his work rather than focusing on the wine region. Include wine flavors and what it pairs well with.
  • Red wine in green bottles and white wine in clear. Choose french wines.

2. What do I think? I’m definitely going to look into the organic shapes and also play with more structured labels interacting with the design.

3. What will I do? Start playing with designs for thursday and research my wines I want to use.

In-class research:

White wine: White Burgundy Chardonnay

Côte de Beaune; “crème de la crème” of white wine

  • new oak aged wine, rich fleshy yellow apple and starfruit flavors, Meyer lemon, golden pear, with undertones of truffle, hazelnut and vanilla. Paired with richer fish dishes, pork, chicken and anything in a creme sauce and mushrooms.

Red wine: Pinot Noir

-fruity (cherry, raspberry, blackberry), with notes of herbs, mushroom, and game-like qualities. Warm spices such as cinnamon and clove. Oak aged sometimes, steel barrels other times.

Sparkling wine: Crémant de Bourgogne

Blanc de noirs

  • small fruits (cherry, blackcurrant, raspberry), while time adds charm and warmth, aromas of dried fruits, honey, spices or nutmeg
  • More of a champagne feel, chardonnay dominates the blend while pinot noir adds layers of complexity.

Thursday, September 20, 2018

Artist Moodboards

“The object needs the gaze of a viewer in order to live.“

I also thought about Yayoi Kusama but decided to go with Martin Creed and Pierre Huyghe instead.

Critique for boards:

  1. What I heard? The Pierre moodboard has a stronger concept relating between his Timekeeper pieces and the aging of wine. I could think about tree rings that relate to the barrels the wine is kept in, geodes, and paint chips. This also feels more like me! Think about ice wine, and the white and red wine bottles can be the same.
  2. What I think? I really liked the Pierre Huyghe pieces better than the Martin Creed so I’m more excited to work with that.
  3. What will I do? I’m going to look into papers, and think about wood patterns, and geodes. I’m leaning more towards the crystals because that feels more high end to me.

(Cult)ivate! Project

Week Four

Tuesday, September 18, 2018

Critique on final:

  1. What I heard? I need to work on my bag more, think about warmer colors and blues. The handle is too thin for the bag, and the whole thing overall is too “highend”. Also think about putting my logo in a color because it looks too out of place.
  2. What I think? I was told to think about making the bag highend but I guess I went too much. I wanted to make the bag relate to the brand rather than the mexican box.
  3. What will I do? I will revisit the bag because I really struggled with it. I’ll look into colors that would be warmer, and maybe a different hande. Maybe a different image for the waves, so it looks more like the ocean rather than inky watercolor.
Inside of the box
Envelope outside for metal pieces
Marker Box

Week Three:

Thursday, September 13, 2018

Critique:

  1. What I heard? The spacing in my logo is a bit off and I should go in and correct that. Also maybe think about making the logo look more high end rather than playful, it was said my box looks like its in Anthropologie. Maybe make the logo brown rather than black. On my card I need to watch the spacing on the back of the card, and on the front I should think about placing the four icons under the title rather than having them on the side. I need to get a wooden tool for the box and spray it and a pencil gold so they look like they are part of the box. My marker box should maybe be the teal from my cactus, feels like there is too much beige right now, and I should think about making an envelope to put the metal pieces in. My bag should look high end to go with the box so maybe I should use silver satin cord, or something metallic.
  2. What I think? I think everything sounds pretty good.
  3. What I will do. I’m going to change the color of my marker box and make the envelope the same color. Then I’m going to fix logo spacing and work on my bag.

Tuesday, September 11, 2018

I’ve done some revisions to the wrap of the box by creating gold icons that go along with the colored ones, I’ve made the color scheme gold and creme rather than pink, and I’ve added information to the back of the box. I got an actual picture of metal pieces that relate to my icons and placed them on the back of the box as well. Now people will know what they are buying in the kit. I also made a box to hold the markers but I didn’t like the rectangle box so I made one to mimic a crayon box instead.

Week Two:

Thursday, September 6, 2018

Critique on second finish box:

I don’t know why these look so pink, that’s definately not right!
  1. What I heard? The design where the icons are placed randomly throughout is liked much better than the one where they are lined up at the bottom. People really liked the icons and the texture inside of them, and also liked the pinkish box. However, it was suggested that I should either make the color more of a peach/ yellow orange, or instead get a colored paper stock. The letters are going to be metal, but I should also think about actually tooling the icons and scanning them in to show what is actually inside the box. I should also add metal to the inside of the box, like the lid, either in the pie tin pattern or some sort of metallic paper. My logo is pretty good, I should thicken it up a little bit and rework the winky face.
  2. What I think? I like the idea of the metal inside the box, and I’ll test out the metal tooling of the icons. I’m not sure how I’m going to like it, but maybe it will be cool! I also like the idea of doing a colored paper rather than printing a color because I feel like that will help add texture and the color will work out better than pink.
  3. What I will do. I’ll create a few variations of the box design for Tuesday, and try to learn the metal press thing over the weekend. I’ll also revise my insert sheet and write my own instructions, because the ones off the site were terrible.

For the insert card I need to add some color, and make the icons either bleed more off the page so they don’t interfere with the type so much, or just make them smaller. Rewrite the the instructions because they are awful.

Tuesday, September 4, 2018

Critique on first finish box:

  1. What I heard? In relation to the box the hand-drawn look was well liked, people said it was playful and fun for kids. The yellow color was nice and made people want to pick up the box and see what was inside. However, there needs to be some sort of metal on the outside of the box, so maybe a frame for the type, or think about type in gold foil. Brigette said to maybe deboss the words into the cardboard and place foil on type, gold or silver. Maybe also no color on the outside of the box, just gold? In relation to the logo I should make the U smaller and more into a smile, and make it a winky face so it doesn’t look like the uber logo.
  2. What I think? I’m interested in doing a study of no color on the outside and make it a foil. Make the illustrations more simplified and then make them metal. Keep the bottom of the box yellow, and add gold accents? Also if I wanted to keep the illustrations I want to try to put the text into metal so it’s shiny when you pick up the box.
  3. What will I do? I’m going to work with a few variations for the second finish on the box and see which direction is more liked.

Week One:

Thursday, August 30, 2018

Idea Boards for kits:

3 Logo sketch revisions:

Critique:

  1. What I heard? All of my logos were okay, but the third one has the strongest idea it just needs better executions. The smile in the second one was kid friendly so that was nice, and people liked the heart but said I should come up with a new and exciting way to use the well known shape (heart). I was really excited about the metal tooling kit and noone seemed to not like it. It was suggested that I think about using metal on the outside of the box somewhere so it gives you a hint of what is to come on the inside.
  2. What I think. I want to definately incorporate some metal on the outside of the box, maybe a foil stamp or a cool pattern where the images are made of foil.
  3. What will I do? I’m going to do some research about patterns in Mexican culture and see what I can make for my box. I’m also going to rework my logos but I might go in the direction of the logo with the smile in it. I like the way it looks and it would go with all cultures.

I’m going to do the Mexican tooling kit for my project. Hojalata is the tin art made in Mexico that creates both practical and ornate objects. Mexican artisans and craftsmen create fun animals and designd to mold inexpensive, readily available tin into elegant, delicate works of art. Candelabras, jewelry boxes or nativity scenes all began as flat pieces of tin, waiting for the craftsman’s touch. Often times glass, mirrors, talavera tiles or other materials are also incorporated into the design as an accent.

Depending on the region, art styles and characteristics differ greatly. In Oaxaca, tin artisans either leave their pieces natural and shiny or use vibrant, colorful paints. In San Miguel de Allende, the tin goes through an aging or oxidization process before it is even shaped. The designs painted on these artifacts range from humorous images to cultural and religious motifs.

Tuesday, August 28, 2018

In class logo sketches:

5 initial kit ideas:

  1. Mexican metal tooling kit. Geared towards middle school students, grades 6–8. Create this craft with metal pie tins (or other metal) and create a relief, color your design and hang them together.
  2. Ocean Drum. Created with 2 pieces of strong plastic and place beads inside to make ocean wave noises when used. Elementary students, grades 1–4.
  3. African collar necklace. Cut a collar shape into a paper plate, paint or color and add feathers and beads. Elementary students, grades 1–5.
  4. Japanese scroll. Take a toilet paper roll and attach paper to it in a scroll like fashion. Draw characters onto the paper and write out your name or anything else. Grades 5–8.
  5. Shaman stick with spirit animal. Find your spirit animal based on your birthday on the Native American chart. Create a type of healing stick using paper towel roll, paint, feathers, beads and more. Grades 6–8.

--

--