Process Documentation: Jed Micek

Packaging Design, Fall 2018

Jed Micek
Packaging Design
13 min readSep 2, 2018

--

11.29

Photo Documentation of Projects 1 and 2

Cultivate

Wine Bottles

11.8

Class Critique

What I heard: I need to add a block on the end of each shelf so that I can label each shlef and prevent bags from falling to the ground. One main critique was that the 3-D design isn’t stable enough, and I still need to increase the scale of my model. The class suggested puting a piece of cardboard perpindicular to the shelves. Also I need to improve the way the layers are connected. Somebody had the idea of using a cylinder shape. Brigette also mentioned the possibility of using transparent material on the film reel to accent the LED lights.

What I thought/will do: Still I need to design the stand with better structure. I like the idea of using a cylander shape to connect the layers, but im not sure how I would fix the layers to the cylander. I also like the idea of making the shapes into a pattern. I’m also considering using a transparence if the opportunity comes. My main goal for next class is to try to finalize the 3-d design.

11.6

Class Critique

What I heard: Instead of having one large cut-out I could create a pattern with many smaller cut-outs to help increase visibility. The shelves are to short and I need to prevent bags from falling off the back of the shelf. Think about ways to eliminate adhesives if possible. Maybe the shelvs could meet at the middle(some of them at a slant.) Side of shelf could label the bag and number of units. For next class think about making a bigger mockup and focus on revision to the design of the shelves and and cut-out.

What I thought: I think the idea of using no adhesives would be hard to do but I might give it a try. I really like the idea of having smaller cut outs instead of one larger one however I dont know if i could cut out all of them by hand with decent craftsmanship so I need to think about using the cricket. I agree that the shelves need to be redesigned. I think the shelves could hold the stand together without adhesives somehow.

What I’ll do: My main goal is to come up with a new 3-d design for the stand so that it can be set up fast and uses minimal adhesives while also fixing the problem of bags falling off the back.

10.25

1 Week Splurchase project

For this project I bought a 1$ laser pointer at dollar tree. This laser pointer design was absolutely terrible and also was directed towards adults. For my design I decided to do a more minimal design aimed more towards childrens. I did a di-cut with a red foil behind it to represent the shine of the laser. The paperstock was printed black to make that red shine as much as possible.

My Design

Original Design

10.11

Revisions

For this version of the wine bottles I decided to create a vertical neck label to accent the other labels. For the champagne label I oriented it horizontal to set it apart from the other two however I plan on changing it back to verticle. For the box I decided to do a di-cut. I like the di-cut but the white edge of the paper shows and I’m going to try to do an emboss instead.

10.4

10.2

What I heard:

  • Consider having the middle bar cross over the S
  • Small refinments needed on the S
  • The STELLA logo could use a boost in legibility somehow
  • The smaller STELLA on the back should be outlines not a fill
  • Include “Frank Stellas Winery”
  • Include a description of Stella and his winery
  • Champagne could be a reversed version of the current logo
  • Reconsider the design of the neck wrap

What I thought:

I think that the neck wrap definitely needs to change, and I liked the idea of having a vertical label. I also really liked the idea to outline the STELLA on the back and I agree that I need to come up with the copy myself. As for the Logo, I agree that the logo isnt perfectly legible but I’d rather put “Stella Winery” on the back label than change the original. I think the current lack of legibility due to the overlaps and colors relates strongly to his work. I’m not quite sure what I’ll do for the champagne yet.

WhatI’ll do:

First I need to write my own copy for the description of this wine/winery and add other elements to the back label. I also will make the smaller Stella outlined and try to add more cream color to the label to try to get more contrast of weight instead of having one perfect rectangle. Next I’ll redesign the neck label. Finally, I need to design the Champagne bottle and box.

9.27

Class Critique (Peer Critique)

  1. For this project I chose Frank Stella as my artist/owner of this wine vinyard. Conceptually I want to emphasize simplicity, and space.
  2. Simplicity because Stella’s work was a pre-curser/inspiration to minimalism. And space because Stella repeatedly states throughout his career how important space is within design and how every successful design should create a unique and interesting space.
  3. With this in mind, I’d like the layout/design to create and interesting space. Likewise I’m hopeing the text, tone, and overall identity of the product will support the idea of simplicity.
  4. Right now im concerned the design doesn’t completely come across as Frank Stella’s aesthetic. Although simplicity is a theme here I still think having no instance of overlap in my design might be hurting the relationship to his work. It was sugested that I could use his name as a place to introduce the shapes and overlap instead of using the shapes I have now. I’ll do some sketches and see how that looks, but I definitly need to add overlap while maintaining the simplicity.
  5. I’m not sure how I feel about the color palette I have. Frank Stella’s work has many bright colors but I dont want to go that route for a wine product. I also dont want the color to be so different that the wine bottles are not related. Also, im considering options for the champagne bottle. I Want to use some of Stella’s earlier work in which he has large dark lines creating thin white lines in-between, but I don’t want to imitate previous designs and I also need to keep the design minimal.
  6. I think all the routes im on right now will eventually lead to an interesting die cut of some sort so I’ll need to consider what paperstock I’m using and if I might want to use a sticker material instead. The one thing that im really not sure of is how I want to handle the overlap. I could do it digitally and try to make a convincing drop shadow, I could have it feather or not. Also, I could actually have the paper overlap however im not sure how I could do that if i have a continuos line like I might have in the sketch below. So I need to think on that
  7. I havent come up with any ideas yet for the box, I think I need to solidify my aesthetic/design for the two generic wine bottles before I start designing other aspects of the project.
peer crit 9/27

9.20

Idea Boards

What I heard:

I started by saying that I don’t want to go in the direction of Christopher Wool so the crit focused on Frank Stella. Everyone liked the color palette that I put together, and it was suggested to add an orange. The main concern at crit was that my design reflects the works and concepts of Frank Stella. Also, that the design somehow relates to wine.

What I think and will do:

I appreciate the comment to keep my design in line with Stella’s work, I think its easy as a designer to do what we think looks appealing when in reality we need to design for a client. I need to do more research on Stella’s stance on art in general and explore more of his work to broaden my options for graphic elements. Next I need to formulate a concept to connect his work to the wine industry.

9.18

Class Presentation: Project 1

What I heard:

Everybody liked the watercolor texture that I used for the background across the different aspects of the project. Also, a few people commented that they really like the verticle aspect of the typography and the inclusion of Japanese characters. Most everybody(myself included) agreed that the bag was not quite there yet in terms of design and the craft was not great. The smaller boxes fit into my box perfectly however the box is quite tight when it is in the bag. I need to reconsider my options for a handle. The rake could be plastic, or painted, to make it fit better with the color palette of the project.

What I Thought:

I agree with pretty much everything that was said at presentation on tuesday. I can’t recall any comments that I found myself disagreeing with.

What I will do:

First, I need to keep pushing the design of the bag and also completely redesign the template for the bag. I need to make or find a handle for the bag instead of having a cut-out handle. I also want to remake the mini rake and paint it black.

9.6

Class Critique

What I heard:

  • Make the rocks more brownish in color and think about using brown on the lid
  • Consider using sand as a texture
  • Revise the how-to card to look more like a zen garden, maybe use an image with a bonsai tree
  • The language on the how to card seems to formal
  • Add watercolor
  • consider new ideas for the lid

What I think:

I agree that the rocks need to lighten up, and I need to find a new texture to set behind the rocks. I probably wont pursue the idea of using a sand texture because im not sure if it will look authentic. I agree that the how-to card looked more like a forest than a zen garden. I think the lid design is alright, but not good, I need to think about other options.

What I’ll do:

I’m going to think about new ideas for the lid since im having a hard time making this design work. Watercolor could be a option. I’m going to try to make a decent watercolor texture. If I can get a good texture(and scan of that texture) I could use the aesthetic to help re-design my how-to card and add texture to the rocks.

9.4

Class Critique

What I heard:

  • consider adding images to the box
  • try to weave the ladace into the characters
  • change the aesthetic of the lid (draw it by hand like the box)
  • everything is too saturated and heavy
  • continue to edit color palette
  • consider how objects will be arranged in the box
  • lines on the lid are to vector bases
  • The logo is restricted in space, open it up
  • Rock texture on lid isn’t working

What I think:

I like the idea to add an image onto my box so that people will know what they’re aiming for. I agree that the box design is very heavy, and the lid feels disconnected to the box due to the line quality. Also, I agree that the color palette needs refined slightly. lastly, I agree that the title of the kit doesnt need to be contained within a box and the texture should be taken out. Overall, I took away from this that the class doesnt think my lid is working right now, changes need to be made.

What I will do:

First i plan to replace all the lines on the lid with hand drawn lines similair to the lines on the box. I also will get rid of the box/texture around the title and maybe draw a loose box by hand to match the line quality of everything else. I’m also considering getting rid of the fabric texture on the lid, as there were mixed feelings about it in class.

8.30

Class Critique

What I heard:

  • Look at Japanese woodblocks for inspiration
  • Adjust the color scheme(get rid of green)
  • Use Japanese characters
  • Abandon the globe logo and pusure one of the other two
  • For the logo think about using two birds
  • Think about kit title and how it relates to the brand and the culture
  • The class liked the idea of making the box a piece of the garden

What I think:

I appreciate the advice to look at Japanese woodblocks, I’ll definitly use those for inspiration. Also, the idea to use Japanese characters is a good way to add to the educational aspect of the design. I agree that the color scheme doesnt seem right yet, but im not sure if I want to get rid of green. For the logos I thought the globe logo was weakest, and I liked the idea of having two birds substituting for the parenthesis.

What I’ll Do:

First I will decide what logo concept to move forward with and then I’ll make a rough lockup to use when thinking about the box design. Next I will look at Japanese woodcuts for inspiration and continue brainstorm concepts and imagry for the box. Last I will use my inspiration to narrow down on my color scheme and typography.

8.29

I began my research for this project by selecting two cultures that interested me, which happen to be Japanese and Australian at the moment. I started with Australia by researching various activities for children that had historical significance, design potential, and could fit in a small box. After maybe a dozen option I came across the idea of painting frisbees with ancient aboriginal art. The project would be easy to package, it would educate the kids, and they would love to have their own custom painted frisbee’s. After that I began thinking of japan and the idea came to me of having the kids make their own zen garden, even better, they could use the box to contain the garden. Using the box as a container adds to the significance of the packaging design. I was lucky to discover that zen gardens are also rich with cultural history, making this idea fit perfectly with the goals of the project.

--

--