A College Junior’s Experience Interning At PackMojo

“I grew to be more open-minded to changes.” Amanda Lee details her experience and learnings interning at PackMojo as a 3rd-year undergraduate student.

Mohana Madhurakavi
PackMojo
4 min readJan 4, 2021

--

Amanda Lee, a 3rd-year undergraduate student at California Polytechnic State University interned with us at PackMojo for 3 months towards the end of 2020. Below is her experience working remotely for the marketing team at PackMojo.

I am Amanda Lee, currently a 3rd-year Business Administration major concentrating in Consumer Packaging and minoring in Graphic Communication at California Polytechnic State University in San Luis Obispo, California.

As I write this blog, I am in the process of completing my 3-month internship (October-December) with PackMojo. Working remotely for a Hong Kong-based startup that specializes in creating custom packaging sounded like a position that was made just for me. In my time at PackMojo, I created graphics, social media posts, and blog posts for their website. Below is a quick recap of my learnings and my work at the startup.

Uncertainty

When I first started my internship, I was not sure if I would be able to do all the things expected of me. I did not know if my level of skills were up to their standards and it was hard for me to communicate that early on without seeming incompetent. Though that feeling hasn’t gone away completely, over time, I have definitely become more confident in my abilities.

Reaching out and being in touch with the team was one of the best things I did to relieve my worries. I communicated with them through Slack and weekly Google Meets. The weekly meetings were great for discussing my work, expressing the difficulties I had, and setting goals for the next week. In the meetings, I strived to be as honest as possible, though it was quite daunting when I felt like I hadn’t accomplished enough during the week. I was pleasantly surprised when the team was encouraging while constructive. It helped me gain confidence because I knew what I needed to change or add and what I excelled at.

Work

I enjoyed my work at PackMojo. I learned to write better through the blogs and brushed up on my creative thinking through more artistic projects. The process of creating was different for the two and it balanced out my experience.

Blogs

For technical blogs, I did research and learned a lot about packaging and sustainability. I reached out to experts in the field and independently sought out information. Those were particularly difficult because I found them to be quite tedious and stressful. They took longer and included a lot of reading, too.

Inspirational blogs came more naturally to me because I found them more fun and descriptive. I enjoyed the process of writing them and gained more experience in creative writing. It was interesting to look at various packaging and really paying attention to the materials and the designs.

Creatives

The creative work I did consist of graphics for the website, social media posts, and a few dielines. I mostly worked with Adobe Illustrator, Canva, and a bit of Adobe Dimension. I really honed in on creativity by making graphics and social media posts. I’m glad that the team at PackMojo was flexible and let me interpret the assignments freely. I learned how to balance my own interpretations to the team’s expectations. Many times I would see something as finished when it was only a working draft. Many changes were made to my work and I grew to be more open-minded to these changes.

Thank You

I’m grateful to everyone who supported me throughout my time at PackMojo from friends and family to the team at PackMojo. I learned a lot through engaging in my work and interacting with the team. I hope to take this experience and grow even more in my career and life.

At PackMojo, we are constantly striving to provide our interns with a learning experience that can help build their skillset and add to the foundation they want to build their career on going forward. Learn more about us and our job opportunities!

--

--

Mohana Madhurakavi
PackMojo

Driving my passion for writing | Marketing | India | P.S. You’ve got this!