For Reasons: Why I Aped Into Collecting the 2021 All-Star Game Set on NBA Top Shot

Dad Moves
SIDECHAIN
Published in
8 min readSep 2, 2021
Nothing more beautiful than the green glow of the “Complete!” banner on a Closed Set | Image Source: NBA Top Shot

“For reasons” might be the single best phrase to enter our modern vernacular. The person deploying the adage typically has a trick or two up their sleeve.

Don’t feel the need to justify your actions? “For reasons” got you covered! It’s the new “mind your own business.”

It’s a timely mantra that’s 100% applicable to NBA Top Shot.

You: Hey broseph, why’d you spend so much money on the ASG set when there are like 100 sets that are clearly sweeter, man?

Me: For reasons.

You: No, seriously. C’mon boss!

Me: Fine. It appears I must plead my case.

Here’s why I aped into collecting the 2021 All-Star Game set on NBA Top Shot.

#ForReasons I. My 2nd Grader Liked It

It all started with a Bradley Beal purchase back in May | Image Source: My Crotchety Old iPhone

My son and I watched the live broadcast of the game together and I must say, there’s a certain playfulness inherent to the ASG that really hits you when watching it through a child’s eyes. From the jump, both my kids could clearly tell this wasn’t a “normal” game of basketball.

In the following two months my son well-established that he wanted the set, all but sealing my fate. And while none of us can shake capital “F” Fate, I resolved myself to conduct a bit of research before more than doubling our initial investment. Seemed the responsible thing to do, anyhow.

Goes without saying but please, please, please, please understand the following is not financial advice. Seriously though, do your own research. Only spend what you can afford to lose. [Insert other platitudinous NFT disclaimers here].

Another disclaimer: Yes, I’m *technically* pumping my bag here. This set rules!

For what it’s worth, I am not pumping it to sell it. My son and I are playing a crazy long game with this set.

I am also not here to tear down the other sets people choose to collect.

As Top Shot collectors in it for the long haul, I hope more of us start to realize that publicly degrading other sets and/or other people’s collection choices only brings down your own collection while simultaneously fraying community congealment.

#ForReasons II. Scarcity

A Dame challenge reward moment with a mint count of 431 serves as the set’s rather slim bottleneck.

Of course some holders of the Dame moment are not full set owners, making the set all the more exclusive (as of September 2nd, per Own the Moment, only 145 users have completed the ASG set).

I researched and compared bottlenecks, values, and all that Jazzercise for the other sets before buying into ASG. If you are currently in the market for a set, I highly recommend you do the same and take the time to conduct your own research before jumping in.

Here are the four websites I use for Top Shot market research: MomentRanks, LiveToken, Evaluate.Market, & Own the Moment.

#ForReasons III. History

In my opinion, outside of dunk contests - MJ, Vinsanity, Spud Webb, ‘Nique - All-Star games and any memorabilia associated with them carry little to no historical value.

In 30+ years of collecting all things NBA I’ve personally never collected anything from an All-Star game. And I do mean all things NBA!

So why the sudden change of heart? Easy.

The 2021 ATL “Bubble” All-Star Game was nothing short of historical.

First off, the 2021 All-Star game was controversial! Something as vanilla as the ASG has never been controversial, but 2021 was, well… it was 2021.

LeBron and other NBA superstars made it known publicly they did not want to take part in the game.

Here’s a direct quote from LeBron, the undisputed face of the NBA:

“And then coming into this season, we were told that we were not having an All-Star Game, so we’d have a nice little break. Five days [in March] from the 5th through the 10th, an opportunity for me to kind of recalibrate for the second half of the season. My teammates as well. Some of the guys in the league… And then they throw an All-Star Game on us like this and just breaks that all the way up. So, um, pretty much kind of a slap in the face.” — LeBron James Feb. 4th, 2021

Yikes! When has this kind of talk ever clouded the mid-season friendly?

Never is the answer you’re looking for, never.

And LeBron was right! Look at all the injuries in the Playoffs due to the compressed schedule. I am all about the players first & foremost. Even as a rabid fan I agreed with LeBron that we really didn’t need this game.

But alas, the NBA ultimately manages to net their desired outcome. This excerpt comes from the League’s own press release announcing the game:

“For NBA All-Star 2021, the NBA and NBPA have established additional measures to supplement the league’s current Health and Safety Protocols. These include private travel to and from Atlanta, the creation of a “mini bubble” environment within a single hotel for players and coaches, and enhanced PCR testing.”

So Silver & Co. build the ATL “Mini Bubble,” and as a result, NBA Top Shot mints ASG moments featuring a giant Microsoft Teams video wall of fans à la the Disney Dome, with the few people in attendance all wearing masks.

It’s easy to see these ASG moments running parallel to the collective community sentiment that Series 1 Orlando Bubble moments are likely to carry significant historical value moving forward.

In the future, the complete lack of floor seat celebrities may prove the most startling difference in watching these moments vs. other ASG moments. The ASG is known for bringing all the stars out, not just the NBA All-Stars.

In another weird twist, the absence of MVP candidate Joel Embiid and his soon-to-be former sidekick Ben Simmons will lead future generations to Wikipedia 5000-A-Tron. Once there, these new age hoop heads will learn that both players missed the ASG due to something called “Contact Tracing.”

One last side note as it pertains to history: These represent the first EVER All-Star moments on NBA Top Shot! It’s certainly a mouthful but I like to think of these moments as ASG TSDs (All-Star Game TS Debuts).

#ForReasons IV. The Plays

Like, seriously. Have you watched them? The Rudy Gobert moment might be my favorite, as it is the closest thing to being on par with the bananas KD MGLE alley-oop moment.

If you don’t feel like clicking the above link here’s my Cliffsnotes version:

HOF’er Steph Curry gets a steal and throws a wild behind-his-head no-look outlet pass to fellow HOF’er LeBron James who then seamlessly two-hand bounce passes a perfect alley-oop to a waiting Stifle Tower!

Hmmph, and I haven’t even mentioned these moments: Chris Paul on the receiving end of an alley-oop from Steph, Luka proving he is in fact capable of slam dunking (j/k love you Luka), Giannis proving he is in fact capable of hitting a 3pter (j/k love you Giannis), Steph recreating LeBron’s no-look 3pter, and of course, Dame calling game with his patented DameTime® half-court game winner!

#ForReasons V. The Players

The ASG Set features 22 of the best players on the planet | Image Source: NBA Top Shot & Moment Nerd

22 players in the set. A nice mix of future Hall of Famers, veteran superstars, and rising superstars.

5 of the 22 have already punched their ticket to the HOF (LeBron, CP3, Steph, Giannis, & Kawhi). Maybe you want to debate me here on Kawhi, just know you’re wrong to hold that opinion and the other four players are 100% locks!

Like owning Rare momes of young superstars? How’s about Luka, Zion (his 1st ASG appearance), Spida, Tatum, Lavine, & Jaylen?

Maybe superstar vets your thing? Dame, Harden, Kyrie, Beal, PG-13, and Gobert do it for you?!

This set obviously holds a ton o’ utility if you are into Moment Ranks Play (fantasy hoops using Top Shot moments) or if you’re into the idea of the forthcoming Hardcourt mobile game from Top Shot.

Advertisement for the new mobile game coming soon from NBA Top Shot | Image Source: NBA Top Shot

I thought some of the best utility last series came in the form of Moment Ranks Play. My son and I truly enjoyed daily fantasy hoops despite being regularly awful and “just okay” on our best of days.

That all said, we didn’t have this squad assembled yet so we’ll see you on the court(?) next year!

#ForReasons VI. In-Arena Utility

NBA Top Shot’s 1st In-Arena Booth at NBA Summer League 2021 | Image Source: NBA Top Shot

As mentioned above, the NBA All-Star game is a scene! It’s a happening chock-full of celebrities, famous musicians, and the like.

In a normal year, the ASG acts as a lively 3-day halftime party for the NBA season. In my estimation, attending the ASG slots in behind attending a NBA Finals game or a Game 7 in the NBA Playoffs. That’s about it.

Personally not the biggest fan of speculating, but if there’s even the slightest of chances to attend future NBA games because I own TS moments, I want that game to be the ASG!

I honestly don’t know if the ASG set offers the best value from Series 2.

That’s something you can figure out for yourself by crunching numbers on the evaluation websites. If DFS and Hardcourt interest you, that only adds to the set’s value.

I honestly don’t know if the ASG set is the Sickest! set from Series 2.

Values aside, unless they work out some sort of Top Shot Set Olympics, the coolest set on the block is all a matter of opinion.

Seriously, I love all the sets. If I could, I’d collect every last one like the people’s champion, the legendary Alxo!

The ASG set, like all sets on Top Shot, should be judged on its own merits.

This scarce, Rare tier set of 22 All-Stars captures the essence of a historical game that almost never happened — but it did happen — and as a result there’s a legacy collection in our Top Shot account that my son and I will cherish for a very long time.

I honestly only know one thing.

I do not regret aping into the ASG Set… for reasons.

--

--