Ultimate Hacking Keyboard

Greetings from the Couch
Paddle your own Review
2 min readApr 1, 2019

The new keyboard arrived this morning. I’d send a tweet to them except I abandoned my e̶c̶h̶o̶-̶c̶h̶a̶m̶b̶e̶r̶ social media accounts last year. So they’ll have to be content with these terrible photos care of my Nokia 6.1.

a bit dark, but it’s there at the bottom.

It’s from Ultimate Gadget Laboratories and so far has been a bit awkward to get used to. But it’s growing on me. The nice thing is there’s a MOUSE key, which means I can use the keyboard to move the mouse pointer, click and do stuff. That means I may be able to retire the trackball finally.

That’s a bit better, if a little out of focus.

Right now it’s for home use only, but I may be tempted to buy a second one for working remotely. I do all my typing on a Goldtouch go2 keyboard, which is great except there’s no battery indicator. It works happily, then flashes at me, then dies. Which would be fine EXCEPT I can’t then just connect to the computer via USB cable and continue. It also uses those bloody scissor keys which if they break (and one has) are simply impossible to fix. That’s where the UHK comes in handy; you can replace the keys, the keyclicky things beneath and customize to your heart’s content.

Anyhoo, it’s quite nice to use and has a lovely clackety-clack sound when the keys get thumped by my pudgy fingertips. This makes me a happy writer.

--

--

Greetings from the Couch
Paddle your own Review

Really not a neural network enhanced instabot from the nastiest burrows of the darknet. (also do chai reviews on @melbournechai )