Trillium Lake

M.H. Curl
Paddling To Stand Still
4 min readAug 19, 2016

Get There!Map and Directions, Driving Distance From Portland— 1 1/2 hrs.

Camping Info — Click Here

Crowds—Thick!

Eats NearbyMt. Hood Brewing Co., Glacier Haus Pizza and Bistro, Huckleberry Inn, more great restaurants and pubs on Trip Advisor.

Nothing beats the postcard perfect view of Mt. Hood from Trillium Lake, it is, in a word, stunning. This was my second time at Trillium and I wanted to get a perspective from the water, as years ago I had been a land lubber on a day trip with my son. Sure, we had a blow up raft that we paddled out a ways, but with a three year old in tow, long journeys around lake shores do not successful outings make.

This time it was just me and Creeper, the name affectionately given to my SUP board by my boy Theo…apparently it is some sort of Minecraft reference due to the blocky graphics on the board. Anyway, I digress.

First of all let me just disclaim, I abhor crowded lakes. Actually I abhor most crowded areas in nature and for that matter at most man made arenas of congregating. There has to be a very good reason for me to venture out to a destination that I know will be plum full of people. It’s not that I don’t like people, I just like them on my terms, when I feel led to interact in a social setting. And Trillium Lake is plum full of people on a hot Summer day. It is conveniently located a couple miles off of Highway 26 near Mt. Hood. It has an easily accessible lake shore with excellent facilities. And, without a doubt the most tantalizing feature of all is the view of Mt. Hood, up close and personal. That is why I ventured into the madding crowds, and upon reflection, it was well worth it.

The lake is small, not tiny, but small as mountain lakes go. At sixty-five acres, it is quite manageable for beginning SUP’ers to see the whole lake by board in about half an hour. The lake has an average depth of 7 ft., with the deepest section at 21 ft. Trillium was created in 1960 by the Department of Fish and Wildlife by damming the headwaters of Mud Creek, a tributary to the Salmon River. I noticed something odd about the water color while paddling. It has a rusty colored tint to it that although fairly clear, is strange and inexplicable. I searched for an explanation on the interwebs and came up with nothing. It did not deter me from enjoying a glorious swim across the lake, however, and the very comfortable water temps made the exercise quite enjoyable and refreshing as I gazed up towards Mt. Hood’s proud flanks from my side stroke.

The constant screaming, laughing, and crying echoing from the accessible sides of the lake began to annoy me as I paddled around. Finally, I found a respite from the hoards in a sheltered marshy area, towards the north end of the lake.

Look closely and you can see the blue heron camouflaged by the grey tree snag in the middle.
Quiet and still marshy area with Mt. Hood peaking through the trees.

I approached a blue heron blending into the snags jutting from the water and silently watched as he preened and cocked his head my way. A few ducks were startled by my passage as I glided over the lily pads.

(I should mention that I have found a wonderfully cheap solution to taking my iphone along for the ride to snap pictures without getting it wet. I highly recommend the Joto Dry Pouch, it is only $10.99 on Amazon and is a very safe way to take your camera, phone, or whatever you need to keep dry along. I tested it with some tissue first, dunking it for about 30 seconds…it functioned perfectly and there was nary a drop of moisture inside! You can use your mobile device easily through the plastic cover and it comes with a handy neck loop. I do recommend also buying a small float to attach, however, as the Joto does not provide for buoyancy. I bought the cheap and functional waterproof camera float from Nordic, $12.95 for a two-pack.)

On the whole, Trillium Lake is a pleasant getaway and a lovely little lake if you want a quick trip with no backroad hassle. The crowds are really my only complaint, but hey, the views and convenience of this little gem right off the highway make up for them. Recommended!

--

--

M.H. Curl
Paddling To Stand Still

A native Oregonian navigating life and the waterways of the Pacific Northwest.