Phoenix, AZ National Team Tryout (pt 3)

Sage Smotherman
Page of Sage
Published in
2 min readDec 14, 2018

The next two days went by very speedy. I don’t remember too much about next two days. We had an early morning practice both days and then had free time after. We then had an afternoon practice where we played small sided games. We had another game that night but this one was different. To this day, the game I played that night was the most professional and serious games I have ever played. There were for teams so two of the teams played earlier and then my team played another team later that night. I went to my game a little early so that I could watch the game before me, because a lot of my friends from the camp were playing. I was amazed when I saw at least 100 fans and scouts surrounding the field. Thats when I knew that this game was going to be an unforgettable experience.

I don’t remember much of the game, but I do remember one of my favorite occurrences in a game of soccer that has ever happened. I was played a pass behind the defense and took a large touch around the goalkeeper. I then faked a shot to make the defender slide and the I passed the ball into the back of the net. I ran around and celebrated with my team. Everybody was jumping on me and it was the greatest feeling in the world.

The next day consisted of saying goodbyes, packing up and the leaving the Resort. Below is a picture of all of the players including myself.

--

--