State Cup (Memoir) pt. 1

Sage Smotherman
Page of Sage
Published in
2 min readDec 14, 2018

One of the most extreme places I have ever been in soccer was the 2018 Kansas Sate Cup final. Every year there is a very large tournament that consists of all of the dominant teams from the state of Kansas. It is every kids dream to win a state championship, as it was also mine. This cup is one of my greatest achievements and I am very proud of completing of of my first goals. I am going to share with you what me and my team went through to win this tournament.

The format of this tournament was not similar to the NCAA basketball tournament. However, there were seeds given out to all the teams beforehand. My team was the 2 seed out of 12 teams. The seeds then mixed up into different groups depending on their seeds. We had to play the 4th seed in our group along with 2 other low ranked teams. We were supposed to play the 4th seed team at 7 pm during the summer. However, our game did not start until 10 pm due to weather. The game started great for us. We went up 1–0 within the first 10 minutes. the game stayed 1–0 for another 25 minutes. Then, at the end of the first half they get a free kick and it falls to on of their players and he puts it away. By the time the second half started the weather was picking up. It was already raining and thunderstorms were on their way. We were dominating the other team the whole second half when we get a free kick 30 yards out. The ball goes into the box and my teammate heads the ball to me running across the goal. I finish the shot and immediately after, the game is called due to weather.

--

--