State Cup (Memoir) pt. 2

Sage Smotherman
Page of Sage
Published in
2 min readDec 14, 2018

After we defeated the fourth seed we went on to play two other teams. We easily defeated the other two teams which set us up for a semi final match vs the 3rd seed, Wichita Fc. It was a very slow game in which no goals were scored until the second half. About 20 minutes into the second half my teammate gets played a ball behind the defense and is 1v1 with their goalie. He takes a big touch past the keeper and passes it into the goal. We go up 1–0. About 5 minutes later they get a lucky bounce to the feet of their striker and he finishes it past our goalie to tie the game. With 5 minutes left in the game, I get a ball wide to go at my defender. I beat him with a big touch down the line and take another big touch towards the goal. As i enter the box, I see their center back come towards me. I try to take another touch to my right, but their defender takes me out and the referee rewards my team with a penalty kick. My teammate then passes the ball to the right side while the goalie dives left, and we are now in the final.

We are set to play the defending state champs and the 1st seed in the tournament. The first half is pretty boring until they get a tap in goal with 10 minutes left. Then 5 minutes later, they get a penalty kick and go up 2–0. It is not looking good for me and my team. 20 minutes go by in the second half and nothing happens, so we start to get worried. However we get a corner kick with 15 minutes left. My teammate gets wind behind the ball and directly curves the ball into the goal. 5 minutes later we get another corner kick. The same player that scored the first goal goes to kick this one as well, and he scores another one. It is tied going into 3 minutes of extra time when we get a third corner. Because we have already scored two of these, they bring everybody back and the ball gets served in. Our tallest player goes up and wins the header and scores. We all storm the field and celebrate. We had over 100 people watching our game and we had just came back 2–0 down. This was the story of my journey to win a state championship.

--

--