Icecreams @ Zany Zeus, Lower Hutt

Kirk Jackson
Page of Words
Published in
2 min readApr 14, 2016

Zany Zeus is a milk, cheese and yoghurt company, with a retail store / cafe open in Moera.

After hearing about their ice cream a few months ago, I finally went there last week when in the Hutt with two of my kids. Actually, I went there three times last week for ice cream.

And the ice cream was good. And all was well in the world.

Flavours I have tried:

  • Caramello: milk chocolate and caramel. Not overwhelmingly sweet.
  • Chocolate Ghana: not much darker than a regular chocolate, but tasty.
  • Chocolate and berries: a berry flavour whipped in the milk chocolate. Very tasty.
  • Hokey pokey: a very tasty version of the kiwi favourite. I bought some in a tub to consume at home :)
  • Christmas pud: I had reasonably low expectations of this, but it surprised. Vanilla plus Christmas fruit and pudding flavours.
  • Cookies and cream: an okay ice cream, but not as tasty as the others.
  • Caramel flavoured soft serve: this was nice, just a subtle caramel flavour in a regular soft serve base (choc dip for an extra 50c)

All up, the best ice cream I’ve found in the Hutt Valley, and worth a visit when we’re over that side of town and hungry for a sweet treat.

As well as the hokey pokey, I also brought back some Greek yoghurt, and apparently that’s good too :)

--

--