Chit-chat with Jewel Davies

Our first interview in the series “Chit-chat with Paintastic Artists”

Creativity Unlimited
Paintastic app
4 min readFeb 23, 2018

--

In 2013, when we launched Paintastic, we had not foreseen how creative minds around the world would use this app to create marvellous works of art right from their mobile phones. Having seen a number of great artists emerge on Paintastic, we decided to reach out to them and tell their stories to the world.

So, here is the first interview of the series “Chit-chat with Paintastic Artists” with Jewel Davies.

Jewel Davies

Jewel Davies is one of the early adopters of the Paintastic app. She was the first user to reach us with a feature request via email in early 2014.

So, here is the conversation between Creativity Unlimited (CU) and Jewel Davies.

CU : Hi Jewel! Please tell us a bit about yourself and your relationship with Paintastic.

Jewel: I love Paintastic tools and it is fun to create. I worked for Canada Post and am now retired. Lots of hobbies that I enjoy..drawing, painting, sewing, and many more with my hands. I never went to school of art. I am an artist by nature. I just drew things growing up.

CU : That’s great ! So you are inherently creative by nature !

Jewel: I guess so… I am told.

CU : Do you remember the time when you installed Paintastic? How did you come across the app ?

Jewel : Yes, I remembered. I had bought a new smartphone and was looking for drawing and photography apps. I found Paintastic the best, with its tools. Also there was another one with animation, but it is no longer available. Paintastic stayed for a long time and I think it was in 2013 that I asked you about the gallery feature.

Creativity Unlimited : Yeah we do remember that. We didn’t have the feature to insert pictures from Gallery back then and we worked upon that after your query and released the feature.

Jewel : Yes. :D

After Jewel’s query, we got back to her mentioning that we had solved her problem in the new update of Paintastic. She replied with a very sweet gesture saying “It works” and a “Thank you” in her Paintastic style !

Thank you greeting from Jewel Davies :)

CU : What do you like the most about Paintastic?

Jewel : Almost everything. Post-transform is what I love most. Zoom feature is great for detailing.

CU : Ohh. nice to know that :) What do you use Paintastic mostly for?

Jewel : Greetings on different occasions. I don’t create everyday like many others.

CU : So do you have any favourite memory of creating a greeting with Paintastic that you would like to share?

Jewel: Perhaps. I have done yearly greetings to send Anniversary wishes for my nephew and his wife, and will make one again next month …their sixth year to celebrate.

CU: That’s great! :) Give them advance anniversary wishes to them on our behalf ! Anything else that you would like to share with us? Any feedback.

Jewel : Thank you :) for the app that you created. The idea of the “Valentine Week Greetings” was a good one and it is encouragement.

On our ‘Paintastic Artists’ facebook group, Jewel Davies posted her awesome greetings for all the 8 days of Valentine’s week. Here is her final valentine’s day greeting.

CU : Thank you so much for your time, Jewel. It has always been nice talking to you!

Jewel : Great to chat with you too.

Here are some awesome Paintastic creations by Jewel Davies, all from her Smartphone :) Enjoy !!

Paintastic creations by Jewel Davis

Want to create Paintastic illustrations from your smartphone? Download the app today at Google Playstore. It’s FREE!

--

--