Following Shadow

Vaghawan Ojha
Painted With Words
Published in
2 min readAug 22, 2019
Image Source: here

Hanging memories in their face,
They pass by me,
Passerbys,
Almost a smile for a “Hello”,
I change the shape of my chin,
Inside the mask,

The dusk is slowly calling the night,
As my shadow increases its depth,
Should there be someone to talk with,
Shall this road has been shorter,
Should there be someone to walk with,
Shall this heavy heart has been lighter,
Should there be someone beside,
Shall my stiff shoulders have been loose and easier,

Out of my own forlornness,
I watch everybody’s face,
Pale, green, blue, orange,
And red,
Expecting someone to recognize me,
As a bare human as they’re,
Hundreds walk by,
And I never weave my hands to a single,
Neither anybody,
The night slowly falls,
I remember the small kid, that I smiled after,
I remember the young girl, that I smiled after,
I remember the old man, that I smiled after,
I remember an old aunt, that I smiled after,
I remember a bunch of footballers, that I smiled after,
I remember a bunch of memories that I smiled after,
I remember all of them slowly fading in the foggy city,
And let myself get lost into the alleys of Kathmandu,
Not even knowing that
My shadow in its full depth,
Smiling after me;

For More Of My Writings: Painted With Words

--

--

Vaghawan Ojha
Painted With Words

A drop of water you could see that dumbly awaits in vain to spill and be a stream: Alas there is sunshine.