What My First Internship at a Marketing Agency is Like

Marija Blažević
PAIR Public Relations
2 min readJun 25, 2018

As a sophomore majoring in marketing, I kept hearing from my teachers and advisers that I should find a summer internship. I didn’t really understand why. Teachers kept telling me that I need internships to experience what it’s like in the real world. They told me I will learn valuable skills that I will need later in my career.

I thought marketing can be taught from a book and by going to workshops and presentations held by business people. I thought marketing was simple. I couldn’t have been more wrong.

When I first started this internship, I thought I will have to come up with creative and funny lines for Facebook ads or to write an occasional blog post. When I think about it now, I want to laugh. Even though I am still new to this marketing world, I learned so much. Now I know what PPC is, SEO optimization, why we need meta tags, and what conversion rates are, and attribution windows as well. If not for my work this summer, I wouldn’t have studied Facebook Blueprint and used Hootsuite almost daily.

Of course, not every part is fun, but I’m learning how valuable experimenting with different aspects of marketing is. At first, everything sounds really complicated, but it feels great when all these pieces start to fall into place and I can see the bigger picture.

Working for a small agency allowed me to dive into different parts of marketing. When I think about it, I am really grateful that I decided to do this internship because I’m gaining valuable insights into how the business world works. Also, having a supervisor that genuinely cares about his company and what it represents helps a lot. Not to mention that he is really trying to help me learn as much as I can during this summer.

Since it’s almost the end of June, I can sincerely say I am excited to see what next month at VYTEO will bring and what new ideas we’ll generate and how we’ll stay up to date with newest trends.

--

--