PaletteLife Inspiration #4: Fashion Designer: Brenda Lukwago

Rachael Bassey
palettelifeshop
Published in
3 min readJan 10, 2019

WHAT WAS YOUR DREAM AS A CHILD AND ARE YOU THAT PERSON TODAY?

My dream was always to be in the creative industry, to create and be artistic; this has always helped me stay focused and true to be in the person I have always aspired to be.

HOW DID YOU GET THE IDEA FOR YOUR COMPANY?

When I moved to London I was inspired by a driven family member and also by people around me. The idea was always there but it took me a while to figure out myself as a designer, my vision for the brand and it’s customers. However, i and LUKWAGO the brand are still growing.

HOW DO YOU COMMUNICATE THE STORIES BEHIND YOUR BRAND?

Through images and through my clothes and social media, when I create a collection I always have a story, which in turn creates the vision or the mood for the brand at that point in time, but I find it amazing to work with other creatives as i get to receive feedback(s) on how they feel about my vision for the brand and designed clothes.

WHAT WOULD YOU DESCRIBE AS YOUR BIGGEST ACHIEVEMENT SINCE THE INCEPTION OF YOUR COMPANY?

My biggest achievement is seeing women wear my designed clothes, the compliments and superb feeling from looking different is surreal, my main purpose as a designer is to make others especially women feel just as excited as i am while wearing my brand.

HOW ARE YOU STAYING ON TOP OF WHAT CONSUMERS WANT?

With fast fashion, at the moment it is really hard and being independent it is even harder, but there is a need to be unique and niche brands are desired, mainly because of the ethics. It is important for LUKWAGO to stay true to her values such as sustainability, women empowerment and designs that are timeless. Hence, by keeping my customers first i am guaranteed of a loyal customer base.

WHAT DO YOU DO WHEN YOU ARE NOT INVOLVED WITH YOUR COMPANY?

I am a mummy to a toddler, so spending time with him and the rest of my family, but I also have a passion for makeup and I work part-time as a makeup artist for a renowned brand.

WHAT UPSETS YOU THE MOST ABOUT YOUR INDUSTRY?

It is so easy to get exploited, so many young talents get abused and used, undeniably, mental health within the fashion industry is bigger than we think.

YOUR TOP FOUR (4) INDUSTRY ICONS?

Nicolas Ghesquière, Alexander McQueen, Edward Enninful, Cristobal Balenciaga

WHAT SHOULD WE BE EXPECTING IN THE NEXT ONE YEAR?

To see more of me as a designer and the Brand, we are going to focus more on The PR side of things, and in regards to the brand, a new and super exciting collection is on the way!

HOW CAN WE CONNECT WITH YOU?

You can find me here: website, Instagram and Facebook

Palette life represents a world of colours, simple but yet chic, a world that puts a smile on your face and encourages warmness. Open to experience and a target for progress. A touch of sun. We at palette life, provide a platform for the unseen and unnamed designs to calm your home. For yet unknown designs to walk the streets of any country with pride. Visit our Store and connect with us on Facebook and Instagram

--

--

Rachael Bassey
palettelifeshop

I work with Slum kids and women at dawn, Travel and capture moments at noon, Feast on books and Lisa Nichols, Tony Robbins and V. Lakhiani's materials at night