PaletteLife Inspiration #5: Fashion Designer & Entrepreneur : Candace Johnson

Rachael Bassey
palettelifeshop
Published in
4 min readJan 17, 2019

WHAT WAS YOUR DREAM AS A CHILD AND ARE YOU THAT PERSON TODAY?

As a child I dreamed of writing novels. I was fascinated by the idea of creating something out of nothing. I feel like starting my clothing line 925 Babe has allowed me to stay true to my childhood stuff. As a fashion designer and business owner I get to create and tell stories through clothing, look books, and social media marketing.

HOW DID YOU GET THE IDEA FOR YOUR COMPANY?

After working NYFW and leaving law school I began 925 Babe. The catalyst for starting 925 Babe was learning about a sustainable fashion accelerator program called Factory 45. My initial idea was to create a street wear brand for women called TRNDSTTR. Twitter gave me the idea of creating a casual work wear line for women. After talking to a bunch of women in my target audience and doing market research I realized that millennial women needed work wear more than street wear.

HOW DO YOU COMMUNICATE THE STORIES BEHIND YOUR BRAND?

I like to communicate the stories behind my brand through lookbooks and social media. We live in a society that is very visual.

WHAT WOULD YOU DESCRIBE AS YOUR BIGGEST ACHIEVEMENT SINCE THE INCEPTION OF YOUR COMPANY?

The 925 Babe website is my biggest achievement since launching the brand. I worked very hard on the site with Jhoe Virago, a talented web designer from Los Angeles, California. As of November customer’s can order garments directly from the site. They can also learn more about sustainable fashion, corporate life, and dressing for work by checking out our blog section of the site, called 925 Babe Universe.

HOW ARE YOU STAYING ON TOP OF WHAT CONSUMERS WANT?

Research, research, research! I’m constantly asking young women what they like wearing to work. I also like to check out what types of dress codes large corporations are imposing on their employees.

WHAT UPSETS YOU THE MOST ABOUT YOUR INDUSTRY?

Sometimes the fashion industry can seem very exclusive and lack diversity. The industry has been making positive changes but there’s still room for growth.

WHAT DO YOU THINK MAKES THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN SHORT LIVED SUCCESS AND LONGEVITY IN YOUR INDUSTRY ESPECIALLY WITH THE ADVENT OF SOCIAL MEDIA?

I think true passion and determination is what allows a brand to have success and longevity. Also, the ability to adjust to change. Brands that adapted quickly to social media are doing very well.

WHAT ADVICE WILL YOU GIVE YOUR TEENAGE SELF?

I would tell my teenage self to never stop drawing and to major in business.

YOUR TOP FOUR (4) INDUSTRY ICONS?

My top 4 industry icons are Dapper Dan, Alessandro Michele, Kerby Jean-Raymond, and Shiona Turini.

WHAT SHOULD WE BE EXPECTING IN THE NEXT ONE YEAR?

You can expect a new collection from 925 Babe in the spring. This collection will empower women in and out of the office while elevating their personal style. This collection will feature sustainable fabrics such as lyocell, tencel, and hemp. It will wow every women’s coworkers while giving her a professional look.

HOW CAN WE CONNECT WITH YOU?

We can connect through social media! Feel free to contact me through Instagram: @FashionWithCee. I love to hear from future customers and aspiring entrepreneurs. Also please follow my brand on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.

Palette life represents a world of colours, simple but yet chic, a world that puts a smile on your face and encourages warmness. Open to experience and a target for progress. A touch of sun. We at palette life, provide a platform for the unseen and unnamed designs to calm your home; For yet unknown designs to walk the streets of any country with pride. Visit our Store and connect with us on Facebook and Instagram

--

--

Rachael Bassey
palettelifeshop

I work with Slum kids and women at dawn, Travel and capture moments at noon, Feast on books and Lisa Nichols, Tony Robbins and V. Lakhiani's materials at night