PaletteLife Inspiration #6: Fashion Designer: Chunte Foster-Bates

Rachael Bassey
palettelifeshop
Published in
4 min readJan 24, 2019

WHAT WAS YOUR DREAM AS A CHILD AND ARE YOU THAT PERSON TODAY?

I think my dream was just to get a great job, and be like Carrie Bradshaw or something. I wanted to move to New York and be this fabulous fashion fixture. I am not necessarily that person, but I think I’m headed in a direction larger than I had previously dreamed.

HOW DID YOU GET THE IDEA FOR YOUR COMPANY?

I look at what I am doing now as more of an interest that became a passion. I always knew I wanted to be an entrepreneur. And I’ve always loved fashion and beauty. My grandmother taught me how to make clothes for my dolls and that grew into making prom dresses for some of my classmates in high school. Now here I am here. I have a love for both fashion and entrepreneurship and began to really attempt to marry the two when I was in college. I never really sat down and mapped out a path, things kind of just evolved.

WHAT WOULD YOU DESCRIBE AS YOUR BIGGEST ACHIEVEMENT SINCE THE INCEPTION OF YOUR COMPANY?

Honestly, my biggest achievement is ‘starting over’. I began my company back in 2012 as ‘The MuseFeed’. I took a hiatus for a couple of years and had my son. Being a mom to a small child while trying to launch a business AND trying to find time to communicate my creativity has been a challenge. Therefore, I am just happy to be in this space where I’m working on something for myself. This process has definitely taught me perseverance and helped me grow spiritually and artistically.

HOW ARE YOU STAYING ON TOP OF WHAT CONSUMERS WANT?

I really try to focus on just being an artist. I may be naïve, but I believe that if you stay true as an artist and focus on finding your own point of view people will catch on. Hopefully you’re not dead by the time they do. (LOL)

WHAT WOULD YOU DO IF YOU WON THE LOTTERY?

Of course, I would put money into my business. Pay off a few bills, and become a permanent traveler. I would love the opportunity to travel to different cities and countries and work from wherever I am.

WHAT UPSETS YOU THE MOST ABOUT YOUR INDUSTRY?

I think the thing that is probably the hardest for me is that I want to focus all of my attention on making good product, but I get pulled in so many directions because design is only one aspect. I wish I had unlimited funds to outsource all the other stuff. I think most solopreneurs feel that way. I also don’t care for the fact that there is so much clutter out there thanks to Instagram and other social media platforms. People can sell anything and make lots of money if they take great photos, have lots of followers or use the right influencers.

YOUR TOP FOUR (4) INDUSTRY ICONS?

Alexander McQueen — His work as a designer is unparalleled. His creativity was mind blowing.

Iman — In addition to being a supermodel, a lot of people don’t realize that she was one of the first to create a make up brand that was inclusive.

Pat McGrath- I think the fact that she’s remained such a staple in the beauty industry and has now gone on to create her own brand speaks volumes to who she is personally as well as professionally. I have a lot of respect for her as an entrepreneur. And I love the glosses from her brand.

Tom Ford- I love the classic, clean look of his work. It just screams luxury.

WHAT SHOULD WE BE EXPECTING IN THE NEXT ONE YEAR?

I definitely plan to let people in more on the process and a bit more about myself personally.

HOW CAN WE CONNECT WITH YOU?

Feel free to shoot me an email info@musebydc.com or connect with me via Instagram

--

--

Rachael Bassey
palettelifeshop

I work with Slum kids and women at dawn, Travel and capture moments at noon, Feast on books and Lisa Nichols, Tony Robbins and V. Lakhiani's materials at night