A sweet dilemma

Lipsa Mishra
Pali Prints
Published in
1 min readJun 4, 2021

Drops of rain
Splattering on my window pane,
Making some noise
Or, clanking with a melodious voice?

The rolling hills,
The turquoise sky,
The green fields,
And a brook, meandering by.

This feels like, an other life
For a city bird in countryside;
Mold, algae, dirt and grass
Unkempt roads and dusty tracks.
I miss my comfort, my cozy flat
Bistro by the corner, mocha and tart.

A city bird, competitive and fierce,
Always, in her fighting gears.
Never dropped her guard so far,
Never slept under a blanket of stars.

I work hard and sleep less,
I fight everyday, to keep my nest,
I strive sharp for comfort and food,
I feel no guilt, or I should?

Landed here, this country side,
A city bird in unknown wild.
Smiling faces, normal clothes,
Plain food and simple thoughts.
Less money and lesser choices,
Less lies and lesser biases.

They sleep early and wake on time.
They work hard to earn every dime.
Less desires and lesser ambitions,
Less complexities and lesser confusions.

I wonder sometimes, which is ‘life’?
The energy of a city, or the serene country side.
Fighting for comfort or a slower pace,
A life of ‘less’ or a rat race?

--

--