Custom Synthesizer

Max 7 patch for LaunchKey Mini

Palmer D'Orazio
palmfolio
2 min readFeb 27, 2017

--

In Fall 2016, I got to take an awesome course with Ben Opie that covered all of the major audio production packages. We spent the second half of the semester learning Max, a visual programming environment for media. Max’s data types are a little weird, but besides that, it’s basically object-oriented programming.

For my final project, I wanted to use Max to create a live performance. I designed a patch to let me control preset melodies with my LaunchKey Mini controller. Without further ado:

The entire patch is vanilla Max — no extra packages or prepared audio samples. I used gates to map the input from my one real set of buttons to two virtual banks of buttons. The melodies are just lists of midi values, which get loaded into the synthesizer units when a recalculation is triggered. The composition itself is pretty trivial, but hey, it was finals week…

my made-up score format

If you want the patch file, or you know an elegant way to make a second bank of virtual knobs, let me know! palmer.dorazio(at)gmail.com

Carnegie Mellon University MHCI
Course: Introduction to Computer Music, Fall 2016
Instructor: Ben Opie

--

--

Palmer D'Orazio
palmfolio

Carnegie Mellon MHCI ‘17. Hope College ‘16. Design, user research, saxophone, and code.