Courage over comfort - a tale of 3 minutes

Last month I Elevator pitched some of my thoughts to 750 odd creative peers at the Reasons to: conference in Brighton. Here’s how it went.

Kate Greenstock
4 min readSep 28, 2016

Firstly let me start by saying it was only for 3 minutes.

But those 3 minutes were the most adrenaline fuelled, dry mouth inducing, holy f*cking terrifying 3 minutes of my working career.

So it seems worthy of a little write up, if only as a word of warning for those who put themselves forward for next year!

Anything under the sun

It’s not often you get to talk about… well, anything you damn well like.

To an enormous auditorium, of super talented creative people. Who are all staring at you. Under a spotlight.

It’s kind of a weighty decision.

And so to decide on a topic, I thought about what was important to me. Not ‘work me,’ but ‘me me.’ What really floats my boat. And I decided, to go deep.

Here’s what I proposed to the legend that is John Davey, founder of the awesome Reasons to: event.

Session title : Thinking I’m rubbish

Session description: It started at the New Designers Graduate event, no-one talked to me, everyone was better than me, and it seemed like I was destined to fail *sob*. I cried on the floor of my bedroom at Mum and Dad’s place (now the guest room).

But low and behold, at the 11th hour, someone approached me, then shock horror, that someone offered me a job. And now here I sit, 10 years later, running a seriously talented design team and consulting with some super serious C-suite bods.

So, I’d like to talk about what skills I reckon have got me into the role I have today, and reassure people that self doubt can be used to propel your career instead of hold you back.

And so I had committed to revealing my insecurities, on stage, to a load of strangers. And now my mug shot was on the website, so there was no going back.

Forwaaaaaard march

When John shared with me the rehearsal times for my 3 minutes of glory. I scoffed. I hadn’t seen the event before and just assumed I’d brazenly rock up and it’d all just happen.

In reality, this is not the case.

In actual fact, it’s a mind blowingly well executed operation, with literally zero seconds from one speaker to the next.

John’s support on the run up and the day itself was unwavering, some tough love when needed, some solid advice, and some genuinely kind words, propelled us towards the big day.

Show time

<Insert expletive here>

I practiced all night in my hotel room, woke early and met the gang at the stage door.

<Insert another expletive>

From backstage we heard the crowd bustling in, chatting and laughing, oblivious to the jittering wrecks that were lined up backstage, clutching our laptops in genuine fear.

And then, it was my turn.

Thinking I’m rubbish

Here’s what I had to say.

As per the synopsis, I talked about thinking I was rubbish when I graduated. I talked about crying on my bedroom floor and losing hope that I’d ever make it as a hot shot designer.

But what I really wanted to say was this.

Not everyone can observe and appreciate their own talent. We compare ourselves to others, and will of course fall short in certain areas.

The most talented designers I’ve ever has the pleasure of working alongside have been riddled with self doubt, and uncertainty of their ability.

So the message I wanted to land, in the presence of 750 eyes and ears, was the importance of leadership. Of guiding and supporting our talented teams, to help to them to see their true value, and be the best that they can be.

I urged the audience to shout it from the rooftops, that their teams were…

… fucking awesome. Because some of them might not know it.

So should you take part next year?

My biggest takeaway from this whole experience, is that people are great.

My fellow pitchers, in the line up below, were the best thing about it. Each and every one of them humble, supportive, and a genuinely top bunch.

How cool to meet a group of creative people, from different walks of life, each incredibly vulnerable as they put themselves forward for judgement, but each unwavering in their support for one another’s success.

Thanks @CBlockandFlow, lloydielloyd, Ade Mills, @rdbhost, Axel Gutschenreiter, @howmanyellies, @digitalshoguns, for having my back, as I had yours.

And thanks reasonsto for the opportunity.

Should you take part next year? Fuck yeah!

Choose courage.

--

--