Art Is Endlessly Evolving

Sarah Loewen
2 min readNov 10, 2015

--

As part of preparing for our annual art show each student is prompted to create an art statement; something to summarize our feelings towards art. As of last spring my statement was, “Art is my escape from reality it holds me stable in a sea of uncertainty.” Art statements tend to change and grow alongside the artist. If I were to write a new statement It wouldn’t be the same as it was before. Our art along with ourselves is constantly changing and growing.

Two hands out for transport

I see art as a reflection of the artist. This is the same way that writing with voice makes writing unique to the author. It only makes sense that when we grow our art grows along side us. This concept is something that I look forward to exploring more as we move closer to the art show.

Once we’ve settled on a statement that represents us, we are given the task of displaying this statement. I chose these two Styrofoam carved hands as canvases for my statement. These hands eventually stood freely at the art show.

My statement on display at the show.

--

--

Sarah Loewen

The purpose of this page is to explore what art means to me personally, while also sharing the work of my fellow classmates.