I Am Wonder

Elizabeth Hayes
Panel & Frame
Published in
2 min readJul 25, 2017

She wonders and waits

Planting seeds that never grow

No matter how much she waters

From the tears of her sorrow

It’s a pity

To want something that can never be

To lose herself entirely

Before the knowing began

She kneels in the dirt

Digging until her fingers bleed

And her hands become earth

Discovering deep within her heart

Something she had not ever known

The simple truth hidden beneath the soil

The root of her misery was her own belief

That she alone was never enough

Where did it come from?

The doubt that plagued her thoughts

Darkened her heart

And twisted her soul

It was when you separated

The angel whispered

When I became me

And Thou turned to you

What do I do?

How do I remember?

If I don’t know who

I Am

You are the love

That planted the seeds

You are the strength

That churned the soil

Then why didn’t

My garden grow

She cries

Her heart breaking

Because nothing will

Flourish

Without Your power

The angel whispered

What did I do

To deserve this?

To have nothing

To be nothing?

Your love became sorrow

Your power became hope

Sorrow and hope yield nothing

But barren fields

Love and power

Are the Source

That created You

And you are the World

Vivian Winslow is the pen name for Elizabeth A. Hayes. She is the author of The Gilded Flower Trilogies and the Wildflowers Series, contemporary, inclusive romance fiction with a strong female narrative. In addition to writing, Elizabeth is a spirtual teacher and healer.

If you enjoyed this story, please click the 👏 button and share to help others find it. Be sure to check out my other articles on Medium. You may subscribe to my newsletter on my website and find me on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

--

--

Elizabeth Hayes
Panel & Frame

Spiritual rebel & teacher. I talk about matters of the heart. My podcast is Karma’s My Bitch https://apple.co/2WRkImZ. https://www.elizabethannhayes.com/