Liam Sharp
Panel & Frame
Published in
5 min readMay 4, 2016

--

So yes. I’m drawing #WonderWoman! And here’s why you should read it…

I’m still pinching myself.

Just to put it into perspective, how many characters are known by pretty much everybody, anywhere?

Superman, Spiderman, Batman, The Hulk, and Wonder Woman are arguably the top five globally recognizable icons of the genre, with Wonder Woman the only female — which makes her the no.1 female character in the world.

Just a little bit of responsibility then!

And let’s add a couple more layers. It’s her 75th birthday this year. She was the break-out star of Batman vs. Superman, and she has her own movie in the works.

Yup. That’s some responsibility!

AND she’s getting a whole new launch. Which means I get to draw issue 1 for a whole new audience.

AND this is arguably the most important time for Wonder Woman as an icon. She represents so much to so many, and not just for women, but for the LGBT community. There’s also the fact that many boys would not (and this is still the case) even think about picking up a Wonder Woman comic because - girls. Duh! And yet that is EXACTLY why they should be picking it up. Because that should not, ever, be an issue. And because, well, she’s just amazing! The whole book is amazing! In so many ways.

Why, you ask?

Well, because this is a book that has everything.

(as an aside — If you don’t like comics you are missing out. They are words and pictures. They are a MEDIUM. They deliver stories. The stigma went a long time ago!)

Wonder Woman is VAST. It covers mythological themes, themes of bondage and feminist themes historically, but it is also a story about NOW too. It contains adventure, sci-fi, fantasy, superhero action, even horror, but it comments on science, gods, the environment, politics, humanitarian efforts, and what it is like to be powerful.

In short it’s got more than any other book I have ever drawn. Ever.

And I confess — I didn’t realize that either. I was ignorant. I missed out!

There are three other reasons for buying this:

Greg Rucka, the writer. An articulate, humane, deeply caring author of novels and comics, and a man who understands Wonder Woman, or to give her her real name, Diana, better than anybody I have ever met. He’s written her before, to great acclaim, and he returns now accompanied by one of the other reasons -

Nicola Scott. An AMAZING Australian artist with a deep love and history with Diana. (Frankly, I’m the lucky interloper! I hope nobody notices!)

And the final reason is for the AMAZING colors of Laura Martin, who I have dreamed of working with for well over a decade.

It’s been 20 years since I had a shot at an icon. And, for me at least, Wonder Woman is THE icon of this particular time. She has an army of deeply caring fans that are loyal, and vocal, and who have known all the above about Diana for a very very long time. They are the informed, smart ones. But this book is a book for everybody.

(As another small aside — I happen to know for a fact that a good number of hairy, macho biker-types who have stuck with my work for many years are extremely excited about picking it up for the first time, against their own expectations. I think that is really cool.)

I’m putting my heart and soul into this, and having the best time of my career on a mainstream book. I can’t wait to get drawing every day!

I’ve also been moved, humbled and thoroughly delighted by the incredibly warm response these first few covers and pages have garnered! It’s been hard to take in, but I don’t take it lightly!

We are merely short-term custodians of this icon. We’re not the stars, SHE is. There have been many creators before us, making beautiful books and telling incredible stories. There will be many more after we are done. To be a part of that is hard to fully appreciate, and it is certainly daunting! But I know, because we all talk, that this team is giving it their very best. I’m pulling out all the stops to do it justice, and to help create something not just for the ages, but for THIS age.

Wish me luck!

If you like what you’ve read, be sure to hit recommend below, to pass this story along to your followers! As always, consider following Panel & Frame for more emerging voices in Comics, Literature, Art, and Film!

--

--