The Story Behind the Comic

John Ward
Panel & Frame
Published in
1 min readApr 21, 2016
Say My Name!

This comic was inspired by a conversation I had with my family as we were driving home. We live next to a river where a crane likes to perch on a rock that juts up from the water. That’s where he likes to spend his time while waiting for his next dining opportunity.

My daughters love to see this bird and always point it out every time he’s at his post. One day, as we drove past, I told them that the bird was named Bob. They didn’t really believe me, but seemed to accept it easily enough.

My wife was a different story. She gave me a puzzled look and asked, “Bob? Why Bob?”

I didn’t even try to hide my smirk as I asked, “You’ve never heard of Bob Crane?”

If you like what you’ve read, be sure to hit recommend below, to pass this story along to your followers! As always, consider following Panel & Frame for more emerging voices in Comics, Literature, Film, and Art!

--

--

John Ward
Panel & Frame

Things I might post about: life experiences/observations, art, comics, coloring books, sci-fi, fantasy, horror, self-publishing, TV shows or books.