Image credit: Mashable

My Top 10 Best Films of 2023 (So Far…)

Ryan Brown
Pantheon of Film
Published in
6 min readJul 1, 2023

--

2023 is halfway over! Wasn’t yesterday M3GAN’s release? Eh, my memory’s a bit foggy. Anyway, this year has had its ups and downs, but at least I can say that I’ve watched 61 new releases so far (here’s to watching 100 by the end of the year). 2023 has had great, good, ok, and bad movies within the past 6 months, and I’m here to talk about by 10 best of the year thus far. So, without further adieu, let’s cover the best that the first half of 2023 had to offer.

10. A Thousand and One

Image credit: The New Yorker

I’m still rocked by Teyana Taylor’s performance. Out of these 10 films, A. V. Rockwell’s A Thousand and One is without a doubt the most grounded-in-reality motion picture. Not sure what that says about my tastes in film, but I couldn’t not put it on the list. A Thousand and One is a mid-’90s to mid-2000s drama about single Black motherhood, the struggles of living in NYC, and the bond between mother and son with beautiful direction by Rockwell and tender-beyond-belief performances by Taylor, Josiah Cross, and William Catlett. This drama will most certainly make those who cry easy during movies cry, and cry they will.

9. Creed III

--

--

Ryan Brown
Pantheon of Film

"Without change something sleeps inside us, and seldom awakens. The sleeper must awaken." -Frank Herbert