Ranking the Indiana Jones Movies

Kayla Witman
Pantheon of Film
Published in
3 min readJul 26, 2023

Indiana Jones was a staple in my household growing up where my father ruled the T.V. and no one else really got a say in what we were watching. I grew up watching MASH, Hogan’s Hero’s, Dune, and movies like Indiana Jones. Even though I was forced to watch the Indiana Jones movies, I actually really loved them.

Here is my personal ranking of each Indiana Jones movies from best to worst and why.

  1. The Last Crusade (1989)

This is the last movie in the original trilogy and by far my favorite. I loved the backstory of how Henry actually became Indiana Jones. I enjoyed the addition of Sean Connery who was one of my favorite actors. It bring the Nazis in and develops a very realistic plot while adding fun side characters like Sallah and Brody. This one has action, adventure, love, and also quite a bit of humor.

2. Raiders of the Lost Arc (1981)

It’s difficult to choose between this movie and Temple of Doom, but I honestly love Marion and her character’s dynamic with Indiana. It’s also a classic because it’s the first Indiana movie in the series and a great introduction to the characters and format.

3. Temple of Doom (1984)

Great movie, but I absolutely hate the bugs in this one and all the digusting food they were served at the dinner at the temple. It also scared me more than the others as a kid, because of the Kali leader ripping the slave’s heart out during the sacrifice scene. Short Round is one of my all-time favorite characters and I love this movie because of him and in spite of Willie. She’s an annoying character that they had no reason to bring along with them except to be a love interest for Indy.

4. Dial of Destiny (2023)

The newest installment of Indiana Jones is currently in the theaters so I won’t post any spoilers. Indy is back but he’s older, slower, and grumpier. We get two new characters added to the mix which is exciting and the reemergence of an old character as well. The Nazis are back in this installment with some great flashback scenes and amazing CGI. Mads Mikkelson plays the villain here and does a thorough job. Overall, a good Indiana Jones movie with plenty of excitement, history, and traveling.

5. Kingdom of the Crystal Skull (2008)

I wanted to like this movie so much! Marion was back, we’re meeting Mutt, and Indiana Jones was on an adventure again. Unfortunately, in my opinion this was the worst one. It was disjointed, slow at times, silly at others, and Shia LaBouf and Cate Blanchett did nothing to add to this movie. After this I was worried that we wouldn’t get another Indy movie to redeem the series, but thankfully Dial of Destiny was released.

What’s your ranking on the Indiana Jones movies? What are other series that I should rank? Sound off in the comments below.

--

--

Kayla Witman
Pantheon of Film

I’m a teacher, mother of two, wife, and overall happy person. I love writing about books, movies, authors, sports, and education. @Kaylareadwit