2017: Old tradition and new realisation

Ade Olabode
Papa Olabode
Published in
2 min readJan 1, 2017

It’s 1st of January – which means a continuation of our new year walking tradition (last year we went to Deacon’s Hill Bedfordshire). This year, we went to Stotfold. Of course, it’s typical January weather today – wet and dull – so nothing new.

But the walk was brilliant! The kids definitely enjoyed it and to cap it all – I made an amazing ‘discovery’ – when we stopped for lunch at The Chequers pub in Stotfold. This pub has served food since 1768 – and I could taste why they’ve survived so long – unpretentious good food.

First meal of 2017 – steak and ale pie with mash

As my sons get older, it makes me think about my dad a lot. And one of the things I’ve realised is that I should write more.

My dad is going to be 83 this year, and he’s consistently written to light a path for us – the younger generation. It’s especially impressive as he was an accountant (just like myself), yet found time to write books (like below published on his 80th birthday), to codify his wisdom and experience for the benefit of others.

What I love most about my dad’s writing is that he’s not trying too hard. He’s just saying it as he sees it. It’s simple, truthful and concise.

In 2017, I have one simple goal – be more like my dad.

Here’s wishing you and yours a wonderful new year. Cheers

--

--

Ade Olabode
Papa Olabode

King of my Jungle...loves all things @PrognoStore