Watching The Olympics: As A Nigerian With Jamaicans

Ade Olabode
Papa Olabode
Published in
2 min readAug 20, 2016

I’m currently enjoying watching the Olympics with Jamaicans.

This is not surprising as Mikaila is Jamaican. And it’s currently a full house at our place, because with her mum, her dad is also on holidays to spend some time with us. That makes a few Jamaicans, right?

Which brings me back to the Olympics: it’s all sorts of sweet torture to be Nigerian – a country of 120 million people (we love quoting that number everywhere!), with zero medals while watching the Olympics with Jamaicans – a country of max 3 million people (that’s less than the population of Adamawa State!), who have 9 medals to date.

And not to forget my approach to the wonderful exploits of the immortal Usain Bolt! Honestly folks, it’s been interesting. Take the 100 meters race, which was 2am UK time. It was watched live by every adult in my house: except the non-Jamaican. Me.

Not to mention all the Nigerian Olympics trivia, I ‘forget’ to share. Like how our kit arrived on day 13 of the Olympics. And If you must know, Jamaicans love their flag – for instance, yesterday was Dad’s birthday (happy birthday again!), and in tune with Olympics spirit, got the perfect cake. Good reasons to be patriotic, I guess.

A picture taken by a Non-Jamaican

As for me, I’m praying Nigeria gets the Bronze in Men’s football game today. And if no luck, there’s always Tokyo 2020 Olympics to look forward to 😂!

EDIT: So we won Honduras to claim the Bronze in Men’s football. I’m happy that we won one medal. That’s ‘one’ medal, more than what we won in last Olympics.

--

--

Ade Olabode
Papa Olabode

King of my Jungle...loves all things @PrognoStore