Day in the Life with Anna Bauza

Christine Pham
Paper Oranges
Published in
5 min readAug 1, 2019

But overall I’m proud to be a mother, wife and woman.

Can you introduce yourself? I’m a software developer with over 10 years experience. I’m truly passionate about this discipline and any related discipline (from the way physics are presented in games to using machine learning in health research). I’m sensitive to art and aesthetics and thanks to this I am design oriented developer. But overall I’m proud to be a mother, wife and woman.

Can you explain your background a bit and what made you want to go into the field you’re at today? I am in Computer Science. When I stood in front of the dilemma of choosing the field to study, my father advised me to try Computer Science. All he said was “you will like it”. During University I got loads of support from my beloved husband and his amazing parents, my mum and granny who believed in me with all their heart. It wasn’t easy, but I have to say that support from people around me was the most important thing that helped me get where I am now.

What college did you go to and what did you study? I studied Computer Science, Programming Specialization, at The West Pomeranian University of Technology.

What attracted you to your major? At first I thought I would do networking engineering, until I started C++ course. I fell in love in programming and I’m very grateful to my fantastic professor Teresa Podhorska, she taught me to pay attention to every single detail. This course changed my thinking of my future career.

Did you participate in any extracurriculars during college and how did that impact where you’re at now? Yes, I was in .NET group and I was lucky to be one of the creators of the CodeGuru.pl service. What impact did that have? I received a reference letter from Microsoft — it was kind of a good start of professional career :)

How was the job hunt? Any tips for those in a similar situation? My first work was from a referral from one of my Assistant Professors. Once I got that first experience it was quite easy to get to another job.

What is your position now and where do you work? I’m a full stack developer at Applicaster.

Why did you choose this company to work for? At Applicaster we do amazing things from an engineering point of view, it’s very innovative and creative. I’m learning something new every day and it is very challenging. It changed my way of thinking about software architecture. The company is flexible and has great benefits, but most of all it is a place where as a woman I feel respected and supported.

I love the independence and trust I’m given. Trust me, I’m a woman engineer!

What’s a typical day look like for you? How does it differ from college to work life? I work mostly remotely so just after dropping kids to school I start my day with my favourite cup of coffee and a very positive attitude. I take small breaks whenever my kids need me and work things out later if needed. I feel very relaxed, and this is the most amazing thing, because I’m more productive when I’m relaxed.

What are the positives and negatives of the job? There are tons of positives I can tell about this job. Mostly it’s that I can be at home and support my family every day. I can be part of family life without resigning from my career dreams. I love the independence and trust I’m given. Trust me, I’m a woman engineer! Negatives, are not related to company or role itself. It’s my personal feeling about whether I should go do a PhD and become a full time researcher. It’s not an option at the very moment as kids need so much attention. I can’t do even part time study, however I’m sure if I decide one day to educate and develop, my company will support me in my path. Well I guess I need to hold my horses for now.

How long have you been in the industry? Has anything changed over the years that’s noticeable or do you think there’ll be a major shift anytime soon? I started my journey 18 years ago by starting to study Computer Science. Since then everything changed. It’s hard to imagine, but back then the internet was not so popular, nor were cell phones. We were learning C++ and Assembler. The most advanced programming environment was C++ Builder. I was lucky to see all the changes during my studies and career.

Anything you would change about your position or where you’re at? I’d still love to pursue my PhD. When I finished my bachelor’s degree my promotor said whenever I decided to continue my education he is happy to be my promotor for my masters or PhD. I decided to have kids. I knew I was in the age I could give them all the best what I can from myself. I don’t regret this decision. I feel shame that there is so little programs to support mothers in STEM higher education.

What are your thoughts on diversity in STEM? It’s way too low and I believe it is mostly because women don’t often get supported by their families. I’m lucky my father was always involving me with building, repairing and designing around the house. I think most of the girls do not develop all of their natural skills because they are not motivated by their families and friends and not involved in developing STEM skills like boys are. During my I.T. education and career, my husband always put my needs first, which allowed me to spread my wings and fly.

Any advice for others? Believe in ladies in tech!

Last minute thoughts? There are so few programs for mothers. I wish conferences could offer day care for kids just next to conference, so mothers could spend some time together with kids at the end of the day. Or any other support, whatever stops women from attending conferences or education. We can’t compete with mother’s love, but we can help mothers to follow they dreams.

Christine Pham is a Software Engineer specializing in Frontend Development at VMware Inc. She studied Computer Science at the University of California, San Diego. Christine is passionate about STEM education having taught through Citizens School and Moreland Education Foundation as well as created the Adopt-an-Engineer Pilot at Cisco Systems. She is now trying to expand that outreach through Paper Oranges.

LinkedIn: christinetpham Instagram: xtineyweenie

--

--

Christine Pham
Paper Oranges

Frontend developer, passionate about teaching STEM education and increasing diversity. Founder of Paper Oranges (www.paperoranges.com).