Day in the Life with Caralyn Harben

Christine Pham
Paper Oranges
Published in
5 min readMay 20, 2019

Being a first year student, networking is everything.

  1. Can you introduce yourself?

Hello! My name is Caralyn, and I just finished up my first year of university. I’m hoping to help inspire the next generation of computer scientists!

2. Can you explain your background a bit and what made you want to go into the major you’re at today?

I come from a very small town (pop. 800). Not many people considered CS, especially not any of my female peers. Nonetheless, the web design class I took to help fill my schedule gave me that spark. I went on to attend the Computer Science Summer Institute at Google in Seattle, and just seeing the passion of seasoned computer scientists and the sparks in the eyes of fellow novice programmers gave me that push to pursue my major!

3. What college do you go to and what do you study?

Currently, I’m attending Penn State Behrend for Software Engineering.

4. What attracted you to your major?

I think my curiosity had a lot to do with it. When I first began programming, I would end up going down internet wormholes to try to figure out issues I was having. I had this urge to learn more, and, well, here I am!

5. Do you participate in any extracurriculars during college and how does that impact where you’re at now?

Last semester at a different university (I transferred), I was in a program called CODE4her. I taught two wonderful 5th grade girls about computer science basics through activities using Sphero Edu. I would love to work more in youth outreach to inspire more young minds to enter the realm of computer science and push us into the future!

6. Are you doing an internship for the summer? If so, how was the getting it? Any tips for those in a similar situation?

I do have an internship! Being a first year student, networking is everything. If you have good conversations with good people and show a genuine desire to learn more and grow as a student and as a person, I think you’ll be far more likely to find experience your first year. Get involved, and get networking!

In addition, the team members said that they always have a good day at work, and they showed dedication and care for the quality of their work. Those values and attitudes are crucial in my idea of a quality learning environment.

7. If you’ll have an internship, what is your position now and where will you work?

I will be spending my summer as a software engineering intern at FMC Technologies.

8. Why did you choose this company to intern for?

The team that interviewed me in no way seemed like the kind of team that was just in it for the money or for the work. The first person I spoke to (one of my regulars at the coffee shop I work at) seemed genuinely interested and excited to tell me about the position. In addition, the team members said that they always have a good day at work, and they showed dedication and care for the quality of their work. Those values and attitudes are crucial in my idea of a quality learning environment.

Caralyn at the Computer Science Summer Institute at Google

9. What’s a typical day look like for you?

If you’re referring to the internship, unfortunately, I haven’t started it yet. However, most of my days are spent studying in school, working at that coffee shop, making sure my team members at said shop are in a good position, and caring for my wonderful snake, Soba. She’s a beaut.

10. What are the positives and negatives of choosing your major?

Some of the pros would have to include being surrounded by interesting, innovative minds, always being challenged, and the general dynamic nature of the field. I love that software engineers are playing such a huge part in advancing us into the future of technology. Additionally, I’ve loved getting involved in things like Women Techmakers and attending I/O Extended in Pittsburgh!

I think the negatives would probably be that some people seem to choose the field because “it’s computers,” along with the general stigma associated with who you are and what you should have as a career as a result. Additionally, the work can be quite tedious, and if the passion isn’t there in someone, it shows. It saddens me to see people work in something they aren’t passionate about.

11. Anything you would change about your position or where you’re at?

Not one thing! I’m definitely behind after transferring, but I wouldn’t have had the opportunities I’ve had had I gone the easy way.

12. What are your thoughts on diversity in STEM?

I think we’re gradually getting better at increasing diversity in STEM, but we still have a long way to go. I’m lucky that I’ve had the chance to speak with such empowering women in tech, and I’d love to encourage more women to stand up and speak out to advocate for diversity in STEM.

13. Any advice for others?

Don’t give up, and be proud of what you do. Work towards your dreams. Don’t let anyone hold you back; you are the center of your own world.

14. Last minute thoughts?

I used to think that if I hadn’t been programming since I was little, I wouldn’t be successful or relevant in this field. That is the exact opposite of reality. Anyone can learn anything whenever they want! Never let self doubt stop you.

Here’s my linkedin, if you’re interested: https://www.linkedin.com/in/caralyn-harben-5a9527169/

Christine Pham is a Software Engineer specializing in Frontend Development at VMware Inc. She studied Computer Science at the University of California, San Diego. Christine is passionate about STEM education having taught through Citizens School and Moreland Education Foundation as well as created the Adopt-an-Engineer Pilot at Cisco Systems. She is now trying to expand that outreach through Paper Oranges.

LinkedIn: christinetpham Instagram: xtineyweenie

--

--

Christine Pham
Paper Oranges

Frontend developer, passionate about teaching STEM education and increasing diversity. Founder of Paper Oranges (www.paperoranges.com).