Poetry

A Little Poem about the Sea

With text from 1001 Questions Answered about the Seashore

Amanda Laughtland
Paper Poetry
Published in
2 min readJun 25, 2022

--

cut and pasted lines of text made into a poem; the text of the poem follows in the story below
photo by author

The salts of the sea have come
from the earth’s crust, dissolved by water.
Where does the water go when the tide is out?
The water does not go anywhere. The sea
ebbs and flows on the shore
up or down, like the water in a bathtub
when you get in or out, except
here it is the moon.

I wrote this poem with text I’d cut and pasted from a book called 1001 Questions Answered about the Seashore, written by N.J. Berrill and originally published in 1957.

I pasted the text onto watercolor paper that I’d torn to fit the size of the little poem. Then I added a touch of blue ink to the torn edges.

Not long after I’d finished the poem, my brother told me about a new local project created by friends of his: the Free Little Art Gallery (Edmonds). I decide to share the poem with the mini-gallery.

Free Little Art Galleries work like Little Free Libraries, except with small works of art. People can leave art to take, and people can take art that they like.

--

--

Amanda Laughtland
Paper Poetry

Poet, teacher, & zinester. I started The DIY Diaries because I love to read about DIY ideas and projects; I invite you to send us your stories!