POEMORAMA AT PAPER POETRY

A Love in the Appearance of Disappearance

The songs of the Sun and the Moon

Divya Goswami
Paper Poetry

--

The Love Uneclipsed. Digital artwork by the author.

There was love and the lovers

In the secret treasures of the cosmos
For eons words were unsaid
For million twilights feelings were webbed
For countless years the creations were shaped
For centuries sagas flowed through the elements
For endless sunbeams eyes were held with embers
For innumerable moments the skies remained still

And then the vibrations echoed
The memories were woven in the dark skies
The stories were buried in the stars
The characters were shaped in constellations
The names were symbols of silhouettes
The passion was in the moonbeams so white
The life became an eternal dance in the darkness divine

The songs began to travel
From the gold of the sun to the silver of the moon
From the brightness of the day to the depth of the night
From the dew on the grass to the craziness of the crickets
From the chirping of the birds to the magic of the angels
From the messages in the clouds to the flaming sparks of fire
From the love apparent in the sunlight to the calmness hidden in the moonshine

But a sudden silence fell
For the lovers merely passed between the dusk and dawn
For they left love notes in the contours and shadows
For the sun burned itself to light the moon
For the moon wailed in becoming half and full
For the opposites spoke only through the tides
For the union alive in the illusion of dissolution

The Sun said,
I am the existence
I am the ceaseless cycle of life
I am the passion in the skin
I give without expectations, my radiance and energy
But I die everyday for her to breathe!

The Moon replied,
I am the acceptance
I am the imperfections of the vessel
I am the desire in the heart
I receive without ego, the path and wisdom
For I become the symbol of our beings!

My heart aches at this love story
The moon speaks to my tears
The sun exposes my scars
The stardust creates a haze
The iridescence adds a halo
The waxing and waning balances the glow and gloom of feelings
The sunrise and sunset etches the peak and trough of the cycle of life

But just like that
The sky broke loose
Neither bright nor blue
And I became the witness of the patient togetherness

The Sun and Moon embraced in a hug
The Earth stared in awe of their eclipse
The briefest memory of darkness became a slow dance
The separation and coming together, now an immortal love song

The love started to appear in the disappearance

And I began to whisper
My skin is fragrant with the light of the beloved
My body is a dance to the textured poem of us
My lips are silent in the galaxies harboured within us
My heart is lilting to the sparkle of our dreamy stars
My eyes are hazy with the two streaming rivers called us
My soul is carrying the weightlessness of our surrender

And just like that, the Sun and the Moon
Became You and Me
Sharing the Wholeness of Love.

Thank you for Poemorama Part III at Paper Poetry. This poem is a tribute to the the inspiring words of the Spanish poet, Federico García Lorca. However, due to the overflow of words, I submit it to Poemorama Part I: free verse.

Lorca’s original words that impacted me deeply —

“In the branches of the laurel tree
I saw two dark doves
One was the sun
and one the moon
Little neighbors I said…”

Poem: Of the Dark Doves (Poem link, courtesy of Poetry Foundation)

May you keep discovering the shades of love stories Suntonu Bhadra Carolyn Hastings Indubala Kachhawa at Paper Poetry.

The author is an Indian Classical Dancer, Performer, Educator, Storyteller, Writer and TEDx Speaker. For more works from her, do follow on Instagramand Facebook.

--

--

Divya Goswami
Paper Poetry

Kathak Exponent & Educator. Artistic Director & Owner of Divyakala. Writer & Storyteller about Indian Heritage, Arts & Life. TEDx Speaker. National Awardee.