Poemorama at Paper Poetry

Beach Walk

A sonnet

Megan Nicole Morgan
Paper Poetry
Published in
2 min readApr 24, 2022

--

Image by Author

Taking a walk along the beach is fine.
Feeling ocean breezes, hearing waves crash;
Moments such as these can be so divine,
But then I look around and see some trash.

Is picking up all of your trash so hard?
Is it laziness or a lack of care?
I don’t think you would do this to your yard,
So why would you do such a thing elsewhere?

You should know I’m not trying to be mean
Or act like I am perfect all the time.
I wish and hope for the earth to be clean;
If that can happen, it would be sublime.

To keep things clean, can we all do our part?
I think today is a good day to start.

This was my attempt at a sonnet for Prompt 5 of Poemorama. It’s my first one. This form of poetry has been a bit intimidating for me, which had me putting off trying it. I was having some trouble understanding how to progress it properly and create a volta at the end. Maybe I was overthinking it. I tend to do that with things sometimes.

The link below is for Part 1 of Poemorama from Carolyn Hastings.

--

--

Megan Nicole Morgan
Paper Poetry

I write about hobbies and nature. I'm also exploring different forms of writing.