UNEXPECTED AT PAPER POETRY

Calling the Sky as a Witness

Because it sees everything

Gloria D. Gonsalves
Paper Poetry
Published in
2 min readMay 16, 2024

--

Sketch by author

Your Honor, I call upon the sky as the main witness.
May it come down with thundering of its tragedies.
May it tow the sun down to bear witness of this rage.
May it bring along the auroras and meteors as activists.
May it raise the morning, noon, and evening in oath.
May it call the clouds and halos as witnesses of ache.
May it unveil the fog in the battle and polluted zones.
May it replay the crimes committed inside the moon.
May it filter nothing to spare us from what it has seen.
May it call upon the stars for the innocent statistics.
May it reveal, through its rain, the liters of tears shed.
May it dwell on lower grounds until justice is served.
Your Honor, the sky may come but I pray it doesn’t.

My poem is about unexpected thoughts on addressing ongoing global conflicts. As a poet, I tackle this issue by “calling the sky to the witness box.” The court hearing may or may not happen, but the thought occurred as a poem.

--

--

Gloria D. Gonsalves
Paper Poetry

I read quietly. Here for mostly poetry. I post occasionally and, during my absence, enjoy the pinned index. More at www. gloria-gonsalves.com