POETRY

Celestial

Paper poetry prompt 7 refracted reflections and wishful dreams

James G Brennan
Paper Poetry
Published in
2 min readDec 7, 2020

--

Photo by James G. Brennan.

Teasing us with Earths “retroreflection”
when all seems dark, our ever-changing moon
revealing just a little at a time until
a full “backscattering” of electromagnetic radiation
Is sent back from where it came.

How I used to “wishfully dream” of being an astronaut
standing on your rocky silicate surface
bathed in illumination both lush sphere
and rocky terrain share, gifted to us by our favourite plasma ball.

If I thought about it too much, I would surely pass out,
all this EMR bouncing back and forth around my head
is certainly enough to pack me off to an ER room.
On a lunar module, of course.

My attention turns to the wonderment of stars.

I look at you above, you are so clear to me
your journey across space and time reaches
my eyes cutting through Earths atmosphere
Without too much resistance, after all, it is known to slow you down.

I look at you straight ahead as you strive to get to me,
refraction becomes intense, yet you never give up
constantly bending for my joyful observation
until density of cloud has its wicked way with you,
ruining our unison, you and your shimmering light,
me with wonder and admiration.

Thank you, Suntonu Bhadra, Carolyn Hastings Melissa Bee for this paper poetry#7 prompt. “Refracted Reflections” and “Wishful Dreams”

Thank you as always, Suntonu Bhadra for giving my words a platform. 🙏Thank you all for reading and your precious time. Always. J. 🙏✨

--

--

James G Brennan
Paper Poetry

Writes free to read eclectic free verse poetry. "Everything in life is writable about" Sylvia Plath.