iPoetry-Paper Poetry Prompt

Frayed

Alternatively “Glass Half-Empty”

Jeff Langley
Paper Poetry
Published in
2 min readOct 26, 2021

--

Photo by Peter Oswald on Unsplash

frayed state of love,
ragged plights of trust

getting away with it,
all messed up

Summer came easy,
then came the Fall

last thing I remember,
I cannot seem to recall

days grew shorter,
under that perpetually miffed, late Autumn sun

our love overcooked,
yeah maybe, a wee-bit overdone

portraits of ghastly faces,
hangings on the wall

that winding staircase,
to that shadowy hall

thought I could get away with it,
all messed up

stars in that night,
shone effervescently corrupt

glass half-empty,
anything ever really in there at all?

Summer turned breezy,
then came the Fall

so my darling, my beloved,
my dearest, my princess, my fool in the rain

--

--

Jeff Langley
Paper Poetry

Kind of a word-perv with many stories to share. When I figure them out, you’ll be the first know!