POETRY | WORLD POETRY DAY

Gratitude Twittles

And some hope too

K. Barrett
Paper Poetry
Published in
2 min readMar 22, 2021

--

Photo-K.Barrett, author

Gratitude grows and it shows-
I wrote a poem then she wrote a twittle
filled with hope that overflowed
into gratitude too

My hope on World Poetry Day-
everyone finds some words
in poems that hit them in a way
reminding them to have gratitude too

This is my first attempt at a twittle. (100 letters, 4 lines, optional rhyme) To be honest…I am not sure I got it quite right. I am not sure I would try it again without a word counter—I have a way with words (in my opinion) but counting to 100 over and over through the revisions is not my favorite thing to do! I actually lose count in the seventies quiet often. That is a little bit odd and frustrating. Who knows, maybe I would get better at counting if I kept trying?

After all the counting…I am grateful for the opportunity to wish everyone a Happy World Poetry day! I love that we are passing around thoughts of hope and gratitude! Two things the world absolutely needs right now.

I will also take this time to be grateful that I found writing. Poetry has been a great use of my mind during these days of being at home. I…

--

--

K. Barrett
Paper Poetry

Awe ambassador. Nature and travel photographer. Also, an educator, mom, wife, daughter, sister, and friend. Sharing the power of awe with the world.