PROSE POETRY

Hopefully

A prose poetry response to “Hope”

James G Brennan
Paper Poetry
Published in
2 min readApr 8, 2021

--

Photo: James G. Brennan.

April 2020.

Hopefully, people will listen, by the end of the summer
this will be over; life should be back to normal.

September 2020

Hopefully, people will realize how serious this is, start behaving
themselves, we can save Christmas and New Year.

December 2020

Hopefully, people have got it by now; they can’t beat it,
we can probably start looking at opening Easter time,
a late start for the season, carry on through a normally quiet low season.

March 2021

Hopefully, enough people will have had the vaccine to open next season.
Some hope; it takes a vaccine to control human behavior crying for freedom.

They took away their own freedom and the freedom of others.

I HOPE lessons will be learned.

Some hope.

October 2021…

Thank you Carolyn Hastings for including me in this prompt, “Hope”
It’s a very late response I know, do excuse me. Read Carolyn’s uplifting piece here, the antidote to my piece above. Both my wife and myself are extremely hopeful to open in October, by the way.

Thank you as always, Suntonu Bhadra, Carolyn Hastings, Indubala Kachhawa, for giving my words a platform and support. 🙏🙏🙏
Thank you all for reading and your precious time. Always. J.
🙏✨

--

--

James G Brennan
Paper Poetry

Writes free to read eclectic free verse poetry. "Everything in life is writable about" Sylvia Plath.