World poetry day 2023

How A Poem Can Persuade A Man To Move His Truck

Poetry flows into my prose in everyday life

Shereen Bingham
Paper Poetry
Published in
2 min readMar 31, 2023

--

A note to a neighbor, written on a envelope, placed on a windshield and tucked under the windshield wiper.
Photo by Author. Reenactment of neighborly note placed on vehicle’s windshield.

If your truck were to rest
on the street at night
a few feet ahead or
back ever so slight,
my car would be spared
the injurious plight
of the pot hole abyss
so plainly in sight.
Should you and your truck
grant this humble wish
twelve cookies you’ll find
by your door on a dish.

Poetry has been flowing into my everyday prose more often since I began publishing poems in Medium. It started happening over a year ago, when I had reason to write a note to my neighbor.

I live at the end of a long cul de sac, and there’s only one way in and out. When neighbors park vehicles on the street, it can be difficult to squeeze by.

One day, a neighbor who works a night shift started parking his pick-up truck right next to a giant pot hole, and the truck stayed there all day while he slept. When I left my house in the morning, there was no way to pass without driving through the pot hole. It…

--

--

Shereen Bingham
Paper Poetry

Communication Ph.D., venturing out from success as a scholarly writer to explore terrains of creative nonfiction, poetry, and fictional short stories.