HAIBUN/NATURE

Insect — friend or foe?

Newest attempt at haibun poem

Thalia Dunn
Paper Poetry
Published in
1 min readAug 14, 2022

--

photo/poem by Thalia

Spotted lantern fly,
masquerading as a friend,
invades my backyard
to demolish native plants
and leave destruction behind.

The local papers have warned us. And though I have been expecting his arrival, I am still mesmerized by the beauty of my visitor, vibrant red body and polka-dots of white on his head and black skinny legs. He hops from ground to table over to my asters and Black-eyed Susans with the elegance and speed of a cricket. How can this cute bug, looking as innocent as an overgrown ladybug, reap so much damage across the miles? Even its name invokes a sense of light!

Like so much in life,
what looks so sweet and charming
upon arrival
imports ruin with a smile;
an enemy in disguise.

For more information about haibun poetry, check out my link for a very brief introduction and my first attempt with writing one.

--

--

Thalia Dunn
Paper Poetry

I’ve been scribbling in notebooks and journals for years and finally decided to share with like-minded pilgrims on our adventure through life.