Literary Impulse & Paper Poetry ‘Eudaimonia’ Prompt Submission

Many Dandelions

An exploratory free-verse poem and thoughtful note in response to the eudaimonia prompt

Chloe Paulina Hawes, Esq., J.D.
Paper Poetry
Published in
3 min readMar 16, 2021

--

The design, photo, and editing of this image is by the author.

After first pass, I wonder if eudaemonia
might have form
in the capitol city of Utopia

maybe it’s caught in the pages of Arcadia’s
Declaration of Independence or maybe it’s
cross-stitched through the navels
of a Dystopian people,
a blanket of space-time
holding everyone together and
splitting them all horizontally in half.

But I revisited the margins of my weekday
midnights,
a place where fairies and witches
lull my spelling.
and I practiced the rigid lines and
the sparse curves of the word,
until I got it right,
and Aristotle arose from his home in the Collective Mind

but not as a figment of play-acting tomb
but whole and faulty —
dull pieces drifting
in the loft of a real…

--

--

Chloe Paulina Hawes, Esq., J.D.
Paper Poetry

Criminal defense attorney, honest and voracious poet, and dedicated writer.