Paper Poetry Gratitude Workshop | Celebrating Milestones

Milestones Tell Your Story

An invitation to our poetry prompt

Carolyn Hastings
Paper Poetry
Published in
3 min readOct 29, 2021

--

Poster assembled by writer in Canva using photos by Anthony Shkraba from Pexels, and Rachel Claire from Pexels

First tooth, first word, first step,
Developmental milestones
Awards for graduation
Preschool to elementary
Ticking boxes, kicking goals,
A university degree
Hey, I made it!
Did it!
Won it!
My Personal Best, a PB!

First kiss, first date, first time 😉
Personal aspirations
First car, first job, first home,
Proud as proud can be
Mastery, accomplishment
I’ve sweated night and day
Earned myself a rightful place
My name up there in lights
A trophy for the record
A medal on my chest

I’ve been around the world
I’ve started something new
I’m in the clear
Yay, I’ll live
to see another year
I’ve lost a few
I’ve gained some more
I’m never giving up
Those milestones are mine,
and mine alone,
to line up on the shelf

--

--

Carolyn Hastings
Paper Poetry

Well-practiced speech pathologist now practicing to be a children’s book writer — emphasis on practicing.