O IS FOR OCTOBER

O is for Orange Plastic Pumpkin Light

A sonnet

William J Spirdione
Paper Poetry
Published in
1 min readOct 24, 2022

--

Photo by William J Spirdione

The orange plastic pumpkin light has shone
an answer to that thought if you must ask.
I walk and kick that can if it be known.
Thought I would see the light. That was my task.

I must have passed the cottage window then.
The explanation wasn’t ever clear.
The orange glow is where it’s always been.
On that small table near the bed. I’m there.

I’m on this dirt road I remember well.
Light shines through filthy panes of greasy glass.
I’m walking by as best as I can tell.
I wish this dream I’m in would simply pass.

This orange light consumes me. Now I’m done.
I try. I can’t wake up. This isn’t fun.

Written in response to Indubala Kachhawa and her October Paper Poetry prompt, ‘O’ is for October.
If anyone wants to write on the prompt, there are several days left.

Please read Carolyn Hastings poem about a daughter’s little rag doll…

--

--

William J Spirdione
Paper Poetry

William J Spirdione is a poet who writes sonnets and more about nature and the humans within it.